We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a getaway for friends. Four of us ladies shared a room in the carriage house with a sitting area, and it was very roomy with a nice porch. Great location! Loved it! We enjoyed everything about Mackinac Island. Two days is just the perfect amount of time....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eventplanner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    226
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
175
352
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the entire stay at the Harbor View Inn! The gentleman who did our reservation was a joy to interact with. It left us eagerly waiting for our trip to find out more about this place.

We stayed in a standard room in the B & B that had a king sized bed. The was immaculate! Well designed, well layed-out given the amount of furniture, and also well cleaned. I believe our favorite part was enjoying the wrap around porch in the evenings.

We've already booked a return trip!

Room Tip: They give the same rates over the phone as you find on the travel sites...skip the web and call to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July. We booked last minute and this hotel literally had the only rooms left on the island, so we didn't have a choice and reserved here. The hotel is a charming and quaint old home, and given everything on Mackinac is fairly close together, the location was fine. The beds were SO uncomfortable, and the walls are very very thin... you can hear EVERY step people take. We were in the back guest house, rooms were a good size and showers were nice. Had a balcony (shared with the other rooms on the floor, but we were the only ones to use ours during the stay, it appeared.) Big pro is the AC, it was record heat while we were there. Also, as everyone mentions, CHEAP bike rentals. Front desk and other waitstaff VERY VERY friendly and kind. Breakfast not bad, pastries/bread, fruit, yogurt, juices. If you want more, the Pancake House is a short walk down the street and offers yummy options too. I would stay here again if I had to... if I had a choice I would probably pick a hotel closer to the center of town. Overall, average hotel but not horrible, just not great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised. When we arrived they placed us in the Harbour View B&B right next door. Our room was lovely and larger than expected. The bathroom was small with a pedestal sink (no counter top) but there was an additional sink in the bedroom. The only negative was that there was no air conditioning but there were 2 fans in the closet.

Our travelling companions were not so lucky. They were placed in the tiniest room imaginable and their bathroom was across the hall. (they paid the same amount for the room!) It didn't even have a closet - just an open bar/rod to hang clothes in the corner. I would have been furious. BUT, it did have A/C.

I would absolutely stay there again, if I am guaranteed a larger room. It is a perfect distance from town so it is quiet at night. You can rent bikes directly from them at a slightly discounted rate vs the other bike shops on the island.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bathroom attached!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank congoroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Harbour View Inn and the Inn is absolutely beautiful inside and out. As we walked up to the Inn we were immediately pleased with the colonial style of the building with two very inviting verandas. In fact during our two days, we spent alot of time sitting on the veranda and people watching. Only a couple of blocks from downtown, which allows you to quickly walk to the action and return to the quiet of the Inn when the day is over. We stayed in the main house and really appreciated the air conditioning. The continental breakfast was pretty basic. Room was very clean and decorated in the victorian island style. We will definitely return to the Harbour View Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Harbour View Inn for two nights. The staff was nice and helpful especially the older man working there. An instant turn off for us was the lack of toilet paper. There was only about 1/3 of a roll when we got to the room. Not keen on having to ask for something that is very important to a nights stay! The room was clean and nicely decorated. The AC and beds were nice but the TV was a little dated. The ice machine was a bit of a walk to get to. It was at the end of the hallway on the floor below us. The walls are paper thin and sleeping was very difficult.
Overall it was a fine place but only worth about 1/2 of what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foosefarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Harbor View several times over the last 5 years and and always enjoyed our stays in the past. This year we went for three days over the 4th of July and spent the whole time choking on cigarette smoke. We stayed at the B&B and were shocked to find that they now allow smoking on the property. There was a sign in the guest rooms saying no smoking but it is apparently allowed everywhere else. We generally like to sit on the front porch for coffee in the morning and at the end of the day, but a group of chain smokers took up residence on the porch and hardly left. Also because the living room and dining room were just off the porch and the windows were wide open, everything, including breakfast, smelled like cigarette smoke. On the rare occasion the smokers left for a few hours every table on the porch was covered in ashtrays, provided by the Harbor View I assume, full of old cigarette butts .

I complained to the front desk and was told that smoking was allowed and that there was nothing they could do about it. It's a shame they have chosen to cater to smokers because otherwise the Harbor View is a nice place to stay. Needless to say we will be staying somewhere else the next time we come to Mackinac.

Room Tip: Stay away if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Naptown1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your commitment to our property and are saddened to find that this last stay was less than satisfactory. By state law, smoking is not allowed in hotels, bars or restaurants and we stand by this law. Unfortunately the law does not apply to outdoor spaces.

A definite oversight on our part was to leave the windows open to the breakfast room and allow the smoke to enter. We will discuss this concern with our staff so they are more aware for future travelers.

We do hope that you will continue to be loyal guests of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing