We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Needs Update”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Paid over $300 for a "suite" with 3 Queen beds (which were actually pretty comfortable). There were no windows in living room area and the one window in the bedroom overlooked an alley and the backs of buildings. Rooms seemed clean but walls were covered in outdated peeling wallpaper, metal frame in bathroom's drop-ceiling was extremely rusted, ceiling tiles were stained. The two main rooms have worn golf course green carpeting. Some of the lamps didn't work. I was kind of embarassed that I picked this hotel for my family to stay at given the condition of the rooms. But the hotel's location is right on main street and I had assumed it would be a lot nicer given it's name "Lilac Tree Suites and Spa." Not a seedy place, but desperately needs attention and updating and definitely not worth $300+ a night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ48178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    124
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
282
233
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I hesitate to write this review because it'll just make more people want to stay there and then the rates will go up! We stayed at the Lilac in June of 2009 and it was great. Staff were very helpful and atmosphere was very relaxing. We enjoyed massages downstairs and our third floor suite was HUGE. We marveled at how nice it all was for the price. There are many places to stay on the island that are NOT air-conditioned, and they cost more!
We had A/C, T.V., refrigerator, coffee pot and more for a great price in a spacious room. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulcimer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I stayed at the Lilac for a long weekend in Oct. '08 and it was very nice. Check-in went smoothly. Our room was a one-bedroom which was very quiet and cozy. The view was of next door which was fine. The beds were just ok. Couldn't really get comfortable, but my back is picky with beds. Bathroom very nice with a 2 sink vanity. It was decorated very flowery and bold bright colors which is not to my taste, but very cute all the same. It was right on the main street of the island and very close to everything you could want to see! Overall, it was very nice.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank delia6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volstommy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 days on Mackinac Island and stayed at the Lilac Tree Suites. All the other hotels we did research on were full, my wife and I where skeptical about staying at the Lilac. The hotel was very clean and all the shops and restaurants are within reach, considering the island is only about 8 miles around. I would suggest this hotel to anyone we had a great stay. We really wanted a water front balcony. You can still see the lake from your balcony andall balconies are street front .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volstommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had a lovely time at the Lilac Tree. It was our 1st to this hotel. Check in was prompt and courteous. The room was actually a suite on the island side (no balcony). Walk into sitting room with couch, chair and coffee table. There was a small dining table with 2 chairs, microwave, small fridge, coffee maker and TV. Then you walk thru bathing area. Room with toilet, tub & shower on one side and large double sink area on the other. The bedroom also has a TV, large window and very comfy qu beds. The whole suite was spotless. I guess the only drawback might be no key pass on the elevator. They were working on several rooms but quiet time is posted 11pm-7am and it was quiet. When I booked the room I asked about any specials/discounts and was given $50 off the 1st night to cover the ferry costs. I learned long ago, if you don't ask, you don't receive!

I read in a couple posts that had issues with entertainment, costs & shopping. A little research before you go will give you an idea of what to expect. This is a small/old island (3.8 sq miles) Most of the buildings are older and they do most things at a slower pace. You can find entertainment nightly, it might not be what you would find in a large city or the variety, but it's there if you are open to new things. This is a tourist destination and the shops reflect that. The island can be done on a budget - I did it with 2 small children yrs ago - you just have to plan. Bring your own food for picnic lunches, and hike instead of renting bike - be creative.

If you are physically able, a bike ride around the island is nice. Along the shoreline is pretty level, inner island more hilly. A visit to the Fort can be very interesting for the kids. Be sure to check online for discount ticket pricing.

Remember it's not Disney, but it's also fun, historic, quaint, relaxing, lots of fresh air and beauty! Mackinaw Island and the Lilac Tree are gems!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clancy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Located in the center of Main St, where all the shopping and dining establishments are located. Lobby is separate from hotel; elevator to rooms is public -- anyone could go right up to the rooms. Stayed in King Club $uite w/balcony -- their top-of-line room. Was not on the water as I expected, but had a view of the water (over/between other ugly buildings). From the beautifully decorated hallway, you enter into the bedroom, the pass through bathroom, into sitting room where the balcony was.

The bedroom decorations were colorful and attractive, bed linens were clean/comfy, with a small TV on a shelf; the sitting area was all kelly green -- a bit much. Nice big jacuzzi tub and double sink with large mirror. In the sitting room, there is a couch/chairs, table/chairs, large flatscreen TV, inexpensive sink/frig/counter area. On the balcony, a table/chairs.

Upon arrival, I discovered that the AC was not working. To their credit, they did fix that right away and I had no further problem. One table was very dusty, but the rest of the room was clean.

Would have preferred the bedroom and sitting room areas switched for two reasons: (a) vending/ice was RIGHT OUTSIDE MY DOOR, so every night I could hear ice/cans dropping and sometimes people talking loudly in the hallway (b) would have enjoyed the view (what there was of it)/lake air from bed. However, guests might not want to hear the continuous clippety-clop of horses or, in busier season, more shoppers/diners on Main St.

Hotel staff was friendly and responsive, but the hotel doesn't do anything to make your stay special. With a little thought/effort, it could be more.

I wanted quiet and relaxing, on the water. Would have done better to stay in Traverse City or Charlevoix instead. Mackinac Island is beautiful, but basically an expensive tourist trap with lousy shops and okay-at-best dining. Metevier Inn on Market St looked to be more what I wanted, but is not on the water. Enjoyed the scenery but would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatjoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We had a spacious two room suite with balcony overlooking Main Street-- comfortably laid out and well thought out. It was not at all noisy, although we were there mid-week and the Island was not that crowded. Staff was very nice, very helpful. I did feel that while generally clean and comfortable, faciliity maintenance could be stepped up a bit. Overall, though, a good experience. If the system allowed, I would rate this between a three and a four -- better than three, but not quite a clear four; but since it is clearly above three, I am giving it a four.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flat screen TVs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing