We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely Hotel. Clean and charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel. Clean and charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed July 13-15 (3 nights), 2014 as part of our 25 year wedding anniversary. We had room 408, the top floor - king master suite with the "Lilac Love Package", which included:
•Breakfast for two each morning at the Pink Pony
•2 One-Hour Spa Treatments of your choice.
•A bottle of Lilac Tree Champagne.
•2 Keepsake Lilac Tree Toasting Flutes
•Box of assorted chocolates.
•Lilac Tree Hotel Water Color Print.
•Late check-out (noon)
Upon arrival, the staff was helpful and friendly and worked with a Shepplers Ferry porter to locate a piece of luggage that was misplaced. It was resolved very quickly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a private balcony that overlooked Main Street which had a beautiful and relaxing view. During our stay, we received extra, at no charge, a small box of chocolate covered strawberries with a note from management congratulating us on our anniversary. The maid service also constructed 2- swans and a baby swan with flowers and 2 - Lilac Tree toasting flutes (glass) which was accompanied by a personal visit from the front desk personnel who presented us with a bottle of "sparkling wine" for our anniversary. They made us feel very special. We had the best room at this property and the price reflected it, but it was worth it considering the occasion. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, our room had the biggest private balcony. The other rooms will not have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randolph65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    111
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
230
197
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end! From the luggage porter meeting us at the dock, exceptional front desk service, a spacious & sparkling clean room, super comfortable beds (#1 priority!) to fast & easy checkout, it was a 10 out of 10! And I didn't even mention that you're smack in the middle of Main Street & all the action!! We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Love Love Love this hotel! The rooms are great, especially if you have kids and don't want them to go stir crazy. The cookie and Milk time was the most surprising part, and a nice surprise. The Lillac and the Chippewa are the only hotels that we stay at from now on! And also have to thank Archie again! He was so helpful and such a nice person, even knew us by name we passed him walking around the island! We also used the Babysitting service offered by the hotel, and could not be more pleased with how wonderful she was!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdancin678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a number if times and this was just like the rest. Relaxing, comfortable and clean. We love the spa that is at the hotel and my wife has a service or two when ever we visit. This is our second trip to MI already this year. The shops are always a way to kill some time and we always rent bikes by the island house for a couple hours. Make sure you go to the pink pony for dinner and drinks. They have done some renovations and it makes it a little easier to get around in it. The rooms over looking the main road is our favorite. You can people watch in the morning and at night as well. This hotel is central to all the is MI. Make sure you get some fudge across the street. We hope to come back a couple more time this summers. Great stay as usual. Thanks for an escape from it all!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyoldman2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have been staying at the Lilac for a few years multiple times throughout the season and enjoy it more each time. the Staff is professional and Bart- the Manager in charge is awesome paying at lot of attention to details. The rooms are very clean and its all the small things that make our stay even more special each time. One of the best values on the island. You will love this place. AND their beds and linens are like sleeping on a cloud.

John and Paige

Room Tip: Spend the few xtra dollars and get a balcony view room facing the water and main street!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lilac Tree. We have stayed on the island before in another hotel and we found this one much more comfortable and family friendly. We are a family of 5 and the room was perfect. The hotel was perfectly situated on Main Street and we found the beds to be comfortable and the service to be great. The staff is very attentive and welcoming. The elevators to get up to the rooms were easy to access and there was never a wait. It was so nice to be on Main Street and run upstairs to get whatever we needed from our room. It was nice of the hotel to offer complimentary coffee, water, and apples during the day. Evening turn down service was nice also as they offered cookies and milk to children and chocolate mints on the beds. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The only suggestion I have is for the maintenance department to check the electrical outlets as a few of them in our room did not work. Don't let that deter you though, because there is a docking station and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelergirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay on Mackinac Island! The staff at the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa were easy to work with and very accommodating when our plans at the last minute. The room had a view of the harbor where we could watch the boats come and go. From our balcony we watch the horse drawn carriages and carts, bikes, bikes, people, and more bikes moving throughout the main street. The Spa is a must for both men and women to remove all your tension so you can enjoy the vacation.

Everyone should definitely try to get way from the main street to take in the views from both sides of the island—sunrise at Arch Rock and sunsets along the boardwalk looking out toward the Mackinaw Bridge. Leave your kids at home and enjoy a romantic time with your husband/wife.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor at the end of the hall; balcony suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all Suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flatscreen tvs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop matresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing