We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The cleanliness and the staff at this hotel will keep you coming back. The view from a suite, of Main Street and the harbor will make you not want to leave. The hotel is located in the center of town, so it is perfect for exploring the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morkenzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We chose the Lilac Tree based on availability and reviews. We stayed 3 nights in suite 406, the room was huge, very clean and the view from the fourth floor balcony of Main street and the sunrises over the harbor were even better. Our experience there was wonderful and the employees were great. It was my wifes first time on the island and she loved it and did'nt want to leave.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a suite with a balcony on the top floors, they have a great view of Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durango7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chose the Lilac Tree based on reviews and availability. What a fantastic experience! Location was excellent, suite was where the WOW! came from and the staff was outstanding. We had room 204 and it was decorated beautifully, the balcony overlooked Main Street and the water. The whole place far exceeded our expectations. Clean, bright, comfortable. Would absolutely stay here again. Only minor downside was wifi access. Couldn't access in the room, but it was fine out in the hallway - which was a minor inconvenience but workable for what we needed. The staff was great and held our bags as we got to the island early so we could look around. Archie brought up our bags and was incredibly energetic and helpful with anything we may have needed. He even brought our bags over from Shepler's to our second hotel when we decided on a whim to stay another night on the island. Would have loved to stay at the Lilac Tree but they didn't have any availability that night. Would definitely stay there again. Great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mph63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel! The hotel was modern with that old world charm. Our suite was very big. The hotel was very clean. Our balcony overlooked Main Street. It was a great escape from our busy world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to the Island for a few days to celebrate a birthday. We stayed at the Lilac Tree and it definitely added to the experience. The location is terrific. You are right in the center of town, walking distance to everything. Our suite was on the top floor we had a wonderful view. The suite was spacious. Loved have a living room and bedroom plus a great balcony! Would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: Room 402 was great. King bed, nice view, away from elevator and at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue_Moon_Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My parents and I all traveled to Mackinac Island recently (our first trip) and stayed two nights at the Lilac Tree Suites. We had a suite on the top floor (4th) which entailed a bedroom first with 2 queen beds, dresser, closet and TV, then a bathroom area with 2 sinks and seperate toilet/shower room and then a living room with a table and chairs (for playing cards or having a meal), couch, chair, sink, fridge and mircowave and of course TV. Then a french door going out to a small balcony on which we could see the lake above the buildings across the street. The building is located in the middle of the main drag, completely walkable to shops and restaurants. All the buildings on the island are old as is this hotel. But it is nice, clean, quiet and furnished in the victorian style. On the street level of the building is a covered courtyard with several shops and benches for sitting. Yes there are bats but like the other reviewer they are all over the island. I don't like them but they did not hamper my stay in any way. They have a great staff. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and pleasant. We had a bicycle porter, Archie who met us at he ferry dock and bought our luggage to the hotel for us. We had two maids come each evening at about 8pm with milk, cookies and chocolates with the offer of turn down service. My favorite part of the suite was to go out on the deck early in the morning and watch the city come to life and to see the freighters come right by the island and down Lake Huron. It was a great place to stay and worth the money in our opinion.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the top floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdtripmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Both my husband & I enjoyed our time on Mackinac, but realized we don't need to go again, and one night is enough. The Lilac Tree is very clean, comfortable and sweet. Very feminine decor and all very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 11040-1664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $190 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, Island activities, and are centrally located to the ferry docks. We are an all-suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites have two 40" flat screen televisions, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing