We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chose the Lilac Tree based on reviews and availability. What a fantastic experience! Location was excellent, suite was where the WOW! came from and the staff was outstanding. We had room 204 and it was decorated beautifully, the balcony overlooked Main Street and the water. The whole place far exceeded our expectations. Clean, bright, comfortable. Would absolutely stay here again. Only minor downside was wifi access. Couldn't access in the room, but it was fine out in the hallway - which was a minor inconvenience but workable for what we needed. The staff was great and held our bags as we got to the island early so we could look around. Archie brought up our bags and was incredibly energetic and helpful with anything we may have needed. He even brought our bags over from Shepler's to our second hotel when we decided on a whim to stay another night on the island. Would have loved to stay at the Lilac Tree but they didn't have any availability that night. Would definitely stay there again. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mph63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    123
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
278
232
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel! The hotel was modern with that old world charm. Our suite was very big. The hotel was very clean. Our balcony overlooked Main Street. It was a great escape from our busy world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to the Island for a few days to celebrate a birthday. We stayed at the Lilac Tree and it definitely added to the experience. The location is terrific. You are right in the center of town, walking distance to everything. Our suite was on the top floor we had a wonderful view. The suite was spacious. Loved have a living room and bedroom plus a great balcony! Would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: Room 402 was great. King bed, nice view, away from elevator and at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Moon_Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My parents and I all traveled to Mackinac Island recently (our first trip) and stayed two nights at the Lilac Tree Suites. We had a suite on the top floor (4th) which entailed a bedroom first with 2 queen beds, dresser, closet and TV, then a bathroom area with 2 sinks and seperate toilet/shower room and then a living room with a table and chairs (for playing cards or having a meal), couch, chair, sink, fridge and mircowave and of course TV. Then a french door going out to a small balcony on which we could see the lake above the buildings across the street. The building is located in the middle of the main drag, completely walkable to shops and restaurants. All the buildings on the island are old as is this hotel. But it is nice, clean, quiet and furnished in the victorian style. On the street level of the building is a covered courtyard with several shops and benches for sitting. Yes there are bats but like the other reviewer they are all over the island. I don't like them but they did not hamper my stay in any way. They have a great staff. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and pleasant. We had a bicycle porter, Archie who met us at he ferry dock and bought our luggage to the hotel for us. We had two maids come each evening at about 8pm with milk, cookies and chocolates with the offer of turn down service. My favorite part of the suite was to go out on the deck early in the morning and watch the city come to life and to see the freighters come right by the island and down Lake Huron. It was a great place to stay and worth the money in our opinion.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the top floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdtripmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
256 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Both my husband & I enjoyed our time on Mackinac, but realized we don't need to go again, and one night is enough. The Lilac Tree is very clean, comfortable and sweet. Very feminine decor and all very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here on a vacation with extended family. Through extenuating circumstances we purchased an extra room and although we had to change rooms every night we got the benefit of seeing different types of rooms. One night we had a balcony room which which was relaxing to sit on in the evening and watch Main Street. The suite was situated so that the bed was farthest from the street so you wouldn't hear horses and people early in the morning. A different suite had a jetted tub was was nice after a day of biking around. They provided a pack and play when asked and even had a corkscrew delivered to the room when we bought some wine. Great service and we would recommend this to any families staying on the Island.

Room Tip: *I do not recall if there is a fitness center but I am not sure on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is at least my 3rd time staying at the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa and I really enjoyed it again. There are several hotels on the island and I have probably stayed in about 1/3 of them over the past 10 years. The Lilac Tree Suites is right on main street and several of the rooms have balconies so it is fun to sit & relax outside. Reading outside first thing in the morning or late at night is very soothing to me. I know some previous reviews state there are bats in the courtyard of the hotel. Mackinac has a TON of bats so it is very common to see them by the entrance to the hotel but other hotels have the same problem. In fact I stayed at a different hotel earlier in my stay because the Lilac Tree was booked and the other hotel had bats flying around on the porch when I was trying to read at night. Last year I was on the island at a different hotel and a bat fly inside the hotel when a guest open the door to walk in at night. So this is a very common problem.

I would have given the Lilac Tree 5 stars but the carpet was dirty when I wore socks in the room. But due to it being late in the tourist season this is not unexpected.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonnepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., New York, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all Suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flatscreen tvs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop matresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing