We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were here in October 2012 for our wedding. We have stayed at many places on the island, and had never stayed here. This is the nicest room with the most amenities we have stayed in on the Island! Excellent staff who were extremely helpful in any and every request of us and our guests. Our reception was in their Mackinac Room and couldnt have been better. Thanks to Nadine Wright (Hotel Wedding Coordinator) and all of the wonderful staff for helping us pull off a flawless event! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms are large and spacious. They also have a pullout couch, microwave and refrigerator.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rwtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 745 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa. We were greeted by Archie at the ferry dock. He took our luggage so we didn't have to drag it all to the hotel ourselves. Check in was a breeze and then Archie showed us to our room, w/ our luggage. He was very helpful w/ suggestions on restaurants and where to grab a couple groceries. Our first night we went across the street to the Pink Pony, located in the Chippewa Hotel, a sister hotel. The food was pretty good, the live entertainment was great! Our room wasn't anything fancy, but we weren't looking for fancy. Our second night the front desk was very helpful w/ transportation & reservations at The Woods (highly recommended). The room was just what we needed, maybe even a little more than we needed. There is a separate living area w/ a T.V. We never turned on the T.V. The hotel is right in the middle of everything downtown. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Check out was also a breeze. We had to check out at 11:00 but didn't plan on leaving until later in the afternoon. The girls at the desk let us keep our luggage w/ them until we were ready. Again, Archie was there to help and take our luggage to the ferry. The entire staff from the Archie, the girls at the desk, and housekeeping were all very friendly and personable. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only reasons I didn't give it an excellent score is because there isn't a lobby bar or restaurant (though there are plenty close by). Also, the decor is a little old school but that's Mackinac. Overall, loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I read some complaints about being by the elevator. We were right next to the elevator and it didn...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G2Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

good location on main street, short walk to many places, it was clean and comfortable, bath towels could have been softer but all in all a good place to stay. we were on top floor balcony side so we did hear the extra noises from the street below and the other guest balconies but decent view. One down side the ice machine outside of door dropped ice all night long and was kinda annoying. Again though a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had not been to Mackinaw Island for probably 40 years --- it is the best place to be for getting away - the Lilac Tree was wonderful. Traveled with my sisters and the room for the 3 of us was spectacular!

Room Tip: check out the website
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabrielle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice 2 room suite with microwave, refrigerator and flat screen tvs in each room. Pay for an up grade to a street facing suite and you will have a balcony with view of the Main Street and water. Nice thick pillow top mattresses although my wife found hers to be too hard.
Rooms very very clean, staff was excellent. Only improvement I could suggest would be replacing the well worn uncomfortable sofas with something fresh and made for comfort. Overall a very good property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Second trip to Mackinac Island and really liked this hotel. It is centrally located in the middle of town and close to everything. I particularily liked our room on the street side with a balcony and watching the town come to life early in the morning. Loved hearing the hooves of the horses. Room was very spacious and very clean. I will stay there if we go back to the island.

Room Tip: Room on the front street with a balcony was great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed again this year. Last year's review was excellent as is this year's. Do want to commend NICKI (manager) and MEGHAN (desk person), as they were most gracious and accommodating. We had to cancel a previous balcony room reservation due to a hospital E.R. visit, but were able to later still get to Mackinac Island this fall. Room preference of balcony not available at time of 2nd booking, but they did manage upon our arrival to put us into a balcony room. We were so appreciative! They are great ambassadors for the Lilac Tree, which we think is a premier place to stay on Mackinac Island (great ambience, good downtown location, spacious rooms, clean) - very special.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room (overlooks the Straits and Main Street - quite a nice & fun view) if possible...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $257 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, Island activities, and are centrally located to the ferry docks. We are an all-suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites have two 40" flat screen televisions, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing