We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a quiet hotel if you are there to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel has a lot of nice amenities including their Pink Pony restaurant, cleanliness, and waterfront location. We checked the reviews before booking our reservation and were warned about the noise level due to their live music. Therefore, we called and requested the third floor as a quieter location. Although they did not guarantee they did make note of our request but ..what a surprise.. when we arrived the only floor available was the 2nd floor. WELL, just when we were getting to sleep the floor below us started rocking and vibrating with their music. IT WAS NOT PLEASANT AND WENT ON UNTIL 2! YOU COULD EVEN HEAR THE WORDS TO THE SONGS. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE NOT RIGHT ABOVE THE MUSIC.
Another guest was at the front desk when we checked out and was demanding to be moved from the 2nd floor to the 4th which they were accomodating. I do feel guests should be warned at check in about the music-you cannot sleep through the noise-very unfair for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Chippewa hotel on Mackinaw Island, and are definitely looking forward to going back again! At the reception we were treated like VIPs, and when we arrived at our room, the views from the balcony were amazing. Our room was on the 4th floor, looking out over the harbor, and the balcony was the perfect place to sit and eat fudge! Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable and spacious, with two large beds, a nice sized bathroom w/ great shower head, a nicely decorated living room with a sofa, refrigerator, sink, and a very cool coffee table that looked like an oversized snow-sled! Fresh flowers and other nice touches like cookies and milk delivered to the door in the evening, were additional highlights that really made us feel welcome.

The location of the hotel was very convenient, at the one end of the main street, right across from a very nice grocery store, and a lovely grassy park at the base of the fort. The hot-tub with a waterfall was one of the biggest ones I have ever seen, and the wireless internet was free, fast and easy to connect to. We ate in their restaurant two times, the food was amazing, as was the service and the views out over the harbor. We had the warm white-fish dip appetizer that I would highly recommend!

Staying in this hotel seemed like staying in a little piece of history that has been carefully renovated with a touch of flair. It is well maintained and the location is perfect!

We definitely look forward to staying there again on our next visit to Mackinaw Island!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desert_Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After reading many reiviews of all the hotels on Mackinac Island we decided to try the Chippewa. My spouse and I traveled with our seven year old daughter. My only concern was some of the reviews complained about late night noise coming from the Pink Pony bar. When I called for my reservation, I mentioned this concern and the very friendly lady made sure our room was at the other end of the hotel. We stayed in a room with one double and one single bed. It was plenty big enough for all of us. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. The location was great, the hot tub was wonderful and I just loved the whole atmosphere of the entrie hotel. My one and only complaint was that they never called us to let us know that our room was ready. It would have been nice to get in our room a little earlier.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

While checking into the very expensive room the desk staff were to busy chatting with each other to greet us. Just handed over the keys and the bill. Photographed the mold in our room. It definately was no mistake. It had been there for a few days to get this big and fuzzy. Showed it to the desk clerk. She did NOTHING. The room itself was so tiny the sink was in the bedroom. Very old building. Smells like pee. needs a good cleaning from top to bottom. It was once a great place but is now in need of serious attention. Do yourself a favor and stay on the mainland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbtmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bballer, General Manager at Chippewa Hotel Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear about your dissappointing stay with us. We run a very high occupancy and can assure you that 99% of our guests have a very good experience with us. Our housekeeping staff does an excellent job with the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the rooms. We are a 109 year old building with some unique challenges, however our room cleanliness is not one of them.
As soon as this concern was reported to our front desk, both the executive housekeeper and myself were alerted since this was the first complaint of its kind. The exec hskr and I immediately went to the room and discovered a very small amount of a gummy substance that had seeped from under the vinyl cove molding. This was not mold or harmful.
Our main street rooms are smaller, typical mackinac island, rooms and are priced accordingly. We have pictures of them on our website site. On the lakeside of the hotel are all larger two room suites with balconies. All our rooms are well maintained and very clean. We've never had anyone complain about a "pee" smell in the hotel, maybe they caught a whiff of horse pee from the streets. If you have been to Mackinac you understand the different smells that are in the air.
I would also encourage guests to stay on the Island and experience the night life of the Island. It is a beautiful place to walk around in the evening, shopping, enjoy our wonderful restaurants. View The Mackinac Bridge, a freighter and a sunset, rekindle the romance, and listen to some great entertainment in our bars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

They give you ear plugs in the room for a reason... they KNOW it's loud and they don't care. When you complain they say "sorry". If you're going to allow the bar noise and all the drunks to make noise in your hotel then please advertise it as a PARTY hotel only. the rest of your (normal) guests would like to sleep at night. Doors banging, yelling, screaming goes on ALL night. Then others start getting up at 6am and your night is over with only an hour or two of sleep. The signs for quiet time between 11pm and 7am are a JOKE.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midwesttraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is my 31st year to visit Mackinac Island and our 5th year at the Chippewa. As far as we are concerned it is the ONLY place to stay on the island. Our room had a breathtaking view. It was very spacious and clean with all the amenities you could ask for (and if you would have needed anything the staff would have gotten it for you). The Pink Pony Bar and restaurant served delicious meals sure to please both adult s and children. The hotel is centrally located on the island's Main Street close to all the excitement of the city, but only steps away from the peace and tranquility that is Mackinac Island. We would like to thank all of the staff for their graciuos hospitality, especially the front desk manager, Julie, who treated us as if we were family.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We just spent three days at the Chippewa Hotel. The room was spotless, the view was great and the atmosphere was perfect. The staff addressed all of our needs. Only complaint- because it is an old hotel, plan on the floors creeking from the guests on a floor above you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
998 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $149 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing