We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Party And Jam With Beans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We have stayed at the Chippewa many,many times the food is great and so is the service and atomosphere.

You will pay more for the lakeside rooms where you get a view of the bay that will bring a tear to your eye in the morning as the sun comes up.

Streetside rooms are cheaper ,you get a view of busy Huron Ave, i prefer that side as the dray horses hooves clicking in the morning starts my day off.

You are not staying on 5th ave or Michigan ave ,this is the U.P.

Midweek pricing is the way to go to save a few bucks.

Take care of the staff and they will take care of you.

Remember tipping is not a city in China.
Brian

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Snogoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2006

My husband and I spent six nights in the Chippewa for our honeymoon stay on the island. When we first arrived we were shocked to see how small our room was for the $180 dollars per night we paid (it was yacht race week). The window overlooking main street was almost entirely blocked by a dresser and a giant stand alone air conditioning unit. We literally didn't know what to do with six nights worth of luggage in the tiny room, but we did get used to it. Also, if you're looking for the experience of complete silence and peace at night, don't stay at the Chippewa because the restaurant/bar in the lobby has live bands and can get quite loud, although we weren't really bothered by the noise. We found the service to be excellent and our rates when checking out were exactly as quoted. The restaurants downstairs have excellent food!
Lastly, the hotel gave us the impression that they had a swimming pool, but when we arrived we discovered they have a huge hot tub/whirlpool, nice, but not the same as a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank isubabe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

We stayed in a lakeview studio and it was Beautiful! Of course we brought the summer heat up north with us much to my dismay. Howwever there was air conditioning and it was GREAT! My husband and two teens really enjoyed themselved. Be SURE to get off of main street and see the real beauty of the island. Don't be a "fudgie!" Ducks are usually swimming around the docks in front of the hotel. Bring them a loaf of bread for a quiet pastime. Room was decorated beautifully and was Very comfortable. Instead of kind of complaining about "The Pink Pony" as did a previous reviewer
they should have gone downstairs and enjoyed the music and fun! The Pink Pony is great!
I think they nust give scuba diving lessons in front of the hotel, bucause each night I watched their under water lights going on and off. Be at he fort at 10:00 p.m. for the playing of taps. You will be woken at 8 a.m. by the first boat of sight seerers on their mackinac destination. Walk up the cliffs to view the ""cottages" up close. The east bluff looks out over the marina. More to my liking. The West bluff "cottages" are much more fancy in the Queen Anne's style. My favourite is "the wedding cake". You will know it when you see it. Don't be afraid to walk in front of the cottages. The little path is open to the public.
Be sure to take a stroll on the boardwalk. I have yet to find Sunset Rock, which is somewhere around Stone Cliff. Wear layered clothing so you can remove some of them as the day gets warmer. Visit the Windermere's Hot dog house by the Iroquois for a good dog and remember some water shoe because the shoreline is pretty stoney!
Do some shopping at Doud's grocery store! Have a great time!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank susieloveslilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

I loved this hotel sooo much. I wouldn't even hesitate to say that this was the absolute best hotel that I have ever stayed at. This is such a high class hotel, with excellent and breathtaking views of the Mackinac waterfront. The rooms are very clean and they give you everything that you could ask for. We had 5 rooms in our suite and it was very convienient for a family. Also comes with a private deck. And unlike most hotel rooms, this one smelled really good as odd as that is to say. There is also a large mosaic hot tub right on the waterfront, that has changing colors, it's really cool.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLudens2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

I had stayed here in 2004 and loved it. That wasn't the case in 2005. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. However, when we got there the air conditioning was still in the closet. The front desk told us that's how they worked. Obviously, we had to call back and have maintenance come in to hook up the air conditioning. Turns out the side of the hotel we were on hadn't been hooked up yet. The staff wasn't knowledgeable about restaurants or attractions on the island. The toilet clogged three times. Very low water pressure in shower. We weren't left new towels from housekeeping after our daily cleaning. Telephone didn't work. What took the cake was when we found the emergency exit door propped open, allowing anyone from the street to just walk into the guest corrider. I did not feel safe. We called the front desk to tell them, and told two people in person at the front desk and were assured it would be taken care of. The next day, it was still open. We wrote to the hotel as soon as we got home but never heard back from them. Poor service, uncaring management.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, Colorado
19
Reviewed January 22, 2006

My wife and I were first-time visitors to Mackinac from Colorado. We did all of our research on the internet. The Chippewa Hotel was our final choice. Absolutely perfect! We were literally in the middle of everything. We must have covered every inch of the island and found it to be the "most fun" vacation we have ever had......we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2005

This was our second stay at the hotel and it was just as beautiful as the first time we stayed there. We stayed in one of the vip suites with a huge whirlpool tub and a great view. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with everything. I was surprised how easy the handling of our bags were to and from the ferry. The only drawback was the noise from the hall we just happen to be there when a tour group was on the same floor and in the morning I think they forget other people are sleeping. But all and all we had a great time and would go back again. The island is so beautiful in the fall.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kat1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $149 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing