We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not Again”
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Too noisy! Rooms too small for price. Stupid billing process. When you order a dinner with some drinks you will get two bills. Order some drinks and food on the patio we got three bills. Our card was swiped three times, three signatures, three tips. Just a dumb way to do things. Elevator broke when I was in it. We stayed on the third floor, it smelled bad. But the rest of the hotel didn't. Staff wasn't courteous. Will not be staying there again.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    195
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
322
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 5, 2004

For 29 years, we've brought our family to Mackinac Island and have stayed at almost every hotel and B&B on the island. 5 years ago, we discovered the Chippewa when the others were booked. Since then, we've brought from 12 to 22 members of our family to Mackinac every July and have never looked back. The quality and comfort of the suites, the festive atmosphere of the outdoor restaurants (which the kids love), the outstanding friendliness of the entire staff and especially the front desk coupled with the convenience of it's location have made it our favorite location for our summer Family reunions. Keep it up and thank you for the many memories you've brought to the future generations of our family.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2004

I had stayed at the Chippewa the year before (September 2002) and was not impressed with the hotel. The staff was not very friendly, our room was hot and the food in the restaurant was under par! We vowed never to return. However, I came up with some girlfriends for a weekend retreat (August 2004) and the only room we could find was at the Chippewa. Wow!
What a change! Our room was beautiful and spacious. The staff, although still busy as ever, had undergone a drastic attitude adjustment. The supervisor at the front desk was an outstanding young lady who kept herself and her staff smiling and pleasant both days we were there. She knew our names and even pulled for us to get better seats in a restaurant we saw her in later that evening (I work in the tourism industry and that's impressive.) I learned from a handsome and charming bartender in the Pink Pony that the hotel had come under new management since the previous summer and if that's the case then KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!I was made a liar to my friends with my prior opinion of the Chippewa Hotel on Mackinac Island. I am glad I gave it a second chance!!! See you next summer!!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2003

We had hoped to stay at the Grand Hotel but with 4 kids it was just not worth the money ($1200 for two rooms for one night!). Settled on the Chippewa and were thrilled. We had an ENORMOUS suite (around $350/night) with a balcony overlooking the harbor (the ferry horn blasts might bother some if you're in the room all day). It was beautiful and, with a rollaway bed, slept six very easily. The location is terrific. Service was very pleasant (we did have to make a couple of calls to get the rollaway to the room). We only stayed one night - although we did try to juggle our itinerary and stay a second but they were booked. Breakfast was good. The kids declared it handsdown their favorite hotel room ever!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 23, 2003

My wife and I arrived unannounced the week before Memorial Day. At the time, we were not sure if we would stay on the island or not. The manager took the time to show us the hotel and the different room types. We were able to get a harbor view suite for 2 nights at a very good price. Since the room was not available when we were ready to check in, we were treated to free drinks at the bar and were given an upgrade to a master suite. I guess that's just a benefit of going to Mackinac midweek before the main tourist season starts.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 1, 2003

We stayed at the Chippewa Hotel for a weekend. The first night we were in the front of the hotel and had no AC, so we openned the windows. It was extremely noisey. The next night we moved to the back facing the harbor. It was much better.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing