We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Noisy and Overpriced”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My room overlooked Main Street of Mackinac Island which at first seemed great. I could hear the clip clop of the horses going up and down the street. However, this hotel has a bar called the Pink Pony on the first floor and the band plays until 2:00 am! My wife and I did not get much sleep from the noise. The walls are so thin you can hear everything in the rooms around you. The room was tiny. The large hot tub outside is basically a kiddie pool so don't expect to relax there. There are much better choices on the Island.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank billandsara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    195
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
322
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is our second year staying at the chippewa, and we love it!

It's a beautiful hotel, very spacious rooms, nice view of the lake, 25 person hot tub, and restaurant. The restaurant is the pink pony. We like to eat there for breakfast. It's a great restaurant that has efficient staff, and a view. The food is very good and I recommend eating there at least once during your stay before an exciting day of exploring Mackinaw.

Our room is a bottom level suite looking out over the lake. There are stairs that lead right to the deck with the hot tub and bar. It's very nice to come and relax in the hot tub and get something to drink after a long day of walking around. There were two main rooms. A spacious living room with a mini fridge, microwave, counter, cabnets, sink, and a coffee maker in the corner. There is a tv, a couch, everything you'd excpect to find in a living room. There's a bathroom with 2 mirros, a sink, and a shower. It has nice lighting and comes with mini shampoos and bodylotions! Then there is a bedroom with two queen sized beds, a tv, and a walk in closet. The room also comes with a floor fan. Every night if you are in your room, the maid service comes with milk and cookies and does turn down service. We've only been in the room once for this. It's a nice thing that they do that, but a little inefficient since it's hard to be in the room at that time. But overall we are pleased with the staff at the hotel. The check in desk is very helpful and easy.

We got over to Mackinaw island using shepler's ferry across the lake. It was very fast and your luggage was brought over to your hotel. The chippewa is in a convenient location, right on main street and by shepler's ferry.

Other memorable dinning experiences were at Ryba's pancake house and fudge shop. It has delicious fudge (I recommend oreo) and a nice litle pancake house for a relaxing morning sit down meal. It's all cute and pink. We also ate Seabiscuit, that was very good. The meal that we enjoyed most was up at the fort by the yellow umbrella's. It's visible from the ferry across. It has good staff, food and an amazing view! I recommend their chocolate shakes. It's right in the fort, so after walking around and enjoying the history, you can get a nice relaxing table service meal. You should defenitly make Fort Mackinaw one of your destinations, no matter how short your stay. It's very interactive and educational.

We did many activities on Mackinaw. One of them was renting bikes and riding around the island. There is a very smooth trail going around the rim with very few inclines and a beautiful view. You can stop at many different locations such as devils kitchen and arch rock. You can rent bikes at many different places around the island. It's easy. I also did some horse back riding through Cindy's riding stable. The horses were friendly and well trained and so were the guides. They take you through many different trails on the island.

We also went through the "Haunted Theatre." It's a very fun haunted house located on main street. It's never really that crowded, there's NEVER a line. If you have little kids I wouldn't recommend going through it, because it's very dark and spooky. Plus there's a live person following you through and jumping out and scaring you. But still it's a fun thing to do, and it only takes 5 minutes.

So enjoy your stay at the Chippewa! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Liked — it's location and view
  • Disliked — the inconvenience of the nightly cookies, milk, and turndown serivce.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addison,MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We booked this room based on hotel reviews on internet. Our experience was less than great. Our room was very noisy due to outdoor entertainment, as well as communal jacuzzi right outside our door. The room was $310.00. The air conditioner was in living room and was not powerful enough to have any impact in bedrooms. The front desk was less than helpful & did not appear to care one way or another about our problems. Spoke with manager, NADINE, who treated us like she was an automated computer. She did state she was sorry about OUR confusion about the property and we should have researched it better!!! Have stayed in multiple properties throughout the world and have never been treated so poorly by a manager. The price is not worth it!!!!!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank msumedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Knowing that Mackinac Island has a turn-of-the-century ambiance, we wanted to chose one of the historic hotels. We ruled out the Grand due to poor food reviews.

We spent the nights of July 6 & 7, 2008 at the Chippewa and if I were to return to the island for an overnight, I would DEFINITELY return to this quaint hotel. There are larger rooms in the Chippewa and if you want a bigger room, pay for a bigger room. We spent our day on the island, not in the room. The smaller rooms ARE small, but adequate (nowhere near as small as a cruise ship room). We were in room 311, which was street-side. We got to hear the clip-clop of hooves throughout the morning, as we showered and prepared for our day.

The Pink Pony Lounge is a very popular hang-out and has live music. The door opens to the street. We were glad for the retro-fitted in-room AC so we could close the window and drown out sound when we were ready to go to bed.

If you're a light sleeper (and I am) I'd recommend bringing ear plugs. Not any fault of the Chippewa in particular, but just because the sounds are always going to be a bit different than home.

The "hot tub"/jacuzzi is really a small pool with jets and a waterfall. It isn't "hot" but is warm enough for a quick swim. It overlooks the marina and dock area but there is also a patio/dining area adjacent so it isn't very private. Just depends on what you're looking for.

If you're wondering which ferry line to use, Arnold is the closest to the Chippewa (same block) but Star doesn't charge for overnight parking in Mackinaw City. We used Star and the Chippewa had a porter who retrieved the luggage from the boat, transported it on his bicycle to the hotel, and brought it to the room (we tipped him well for this!)

On checkout day, the Chippewa is glad to hold luggage in the lobby until you depart. If you know departure time, they'll send the luggage with porters. If not, you can retrieve it yourself. They were even kind enough to keep our laptop behind the front desk (although the ferry lines have coin operated lockers at the docks)

We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast one morning but mostly preferred to vary our dining experiences on the island. We found drinks at the Pink Pony priced a bit high but not outrageous for island prices.

If you're looking for a high tech, newly designed hotel, you probably don't want to stay on Mackinac Island. If you're interested in an experience in keeping with the spirit of the island, then by all means give the Chippewa a try. They have a variety of room rates and sizes. Remember they have a VERY short season and prices on the island tend to be a bit high but aren't outrageous.

Decor in the Chippewa is in keeping with the Victorian spirit, flowery carpets and wallpaper, but not over-the-top. Most of the island makes you feel as if you've stepped back in time. The Chippewa is no exception, however they have included modern amenities including running water, electricity, private bathrooms, and even air conditioning. (I apologize, we had camera issues and have no pics but will vouch for the hotel pics I've seen posted)

  • Liked — Old world Charm
  • Disliked — Air Conditioner noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa32989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, KY
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed at the Chippewa Hotel Waterfront in Room 409 in a standard room, it was one of the SMALLEST rooms I have ever stayed in, my husband told his friend he had stayed in campers bigger than the hotel room, the bathroom reminded me of one on a cruise ship. The best part of the room was the window overlooking Main Street but it was blocked by the stand alone Air conditioner and the dresser which held the coffee maker, ice bucket, phone etc. There was NO where in the room for me to sit my purse, make up bag, curling iron, and other personal items. The room was REALLY not functional. The ceiling fan was a nice added touch as well as the painted pretty flowers on the wall. For $159 per night, and the TINY unfunctional roon, I would NEVER stay here again. The location is the BEST thing about the hotel. I have read on Tripadvisor that there must be larger rooms, but I sure did NOT experience it. The room was quiet, We did not hear any noise from the lounge or street, however the light from the hall came in under the door from the large gap.

We thought the small Pool/ or large Jucuzzi was nice , it had a water fall in it and was relaxing to sit in and watch the boats on the lake when the jets and waterfall quit (on a timer) you could see all the hair, dirt and scum floating. yuck that was it for us and the others in it. The room and furnishings was old, but clean and the bed was comfortable.

The Island is BEAUTIFUL and the Main Street location of the Chippewa is great...across the street is the Fort, next to the hotel is a Marina and park, also a grocery store is across the street. Also, when you get off the ARNOLD Ferry, you are right next to the hhotel.

We ate in their restaurant for Breakfast, (the Chip check in desk gave us a 10% off coupon) and sat outside overlooking the lake and was a nice way to start the day.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — TEENY TINY ROOM!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kytravelerslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised with our room at the Chippewa. We had a Main Street view room. We did have issues with the noise from the Pink Pony. We did book another room at the Chippewa for next week, but we will have a harbor room this time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitareaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

First time to Mackinac Island. What a great stay at the Chip. Front desk is very helpful and friendly. Our room was the Lakeview Suite on the 3rd floor. Nice and roomy, no issues. Loved this hotel much better than our stay in Honolulu. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Staff and rooms, close proximity to restraunts, shopping.
  • Disliked — Small elevator.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NevadaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing