We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the end of Sep. for 3 nights and this was truly the highlight of our roadtrip. This was a "girl's getaway" for 2 of us that had not been up to Mackinac for a "few" decades. Let me start with the staff, Nicole at the front desk is a gem, Joel, the waitress in the dining room is a treasure, both of these young ladies went out of their way to answer questions, and give island tips. I would hire either of them for any job in a minute.
Our suite #402 has to have the best view on island...waking up to the clip-clop of horse hooves on the street below was magical, yet the quietness at night was wonderful. I would not stay anywhere else in the future.
The Pink Pony restaurant has wonderful food and views...I cannot wait to return...Many thanks again to the staff and hotel for making our trip truly perfect.

Room Tip: Room #402...top floor, corner suite...lovely views and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJGimli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice stay. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Location can't be beat. Our sink was slow to drain and they had it fixed immediately. Would definitely recommend to others and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rellima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Some of the staff at the desk were "brisk."..it felt as if they were ready for a seasnoal break and we were in the way. The reest of the staff was very cheerful and on top of it. I understand this island is a toursit island, however if you are in the business of greeting the public, a smile works wonders.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinthegoodlife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Chippewa is the best on the island. It is not due to the fact it is right in the middle of town and right on the water; It is not due to the an unbelievable view right on the harbor; It is not due to a great 30+ person hot tub located right on the water; It's not due to a great bar (Pink Pony) located outside the lobby nor the awesome attached restaurant with fine dining. What really separates it is the people. It is the owner and Mgt. and service staff like Nicole who is so sweet and accommodating, who gives you the sense of "welcome home" from a long day of hiking, biking or shopping. It is Bri (pronounced Bree) who was relentless working through computer issues to print an important document for me for an important business meeting. Yes it is all the above that makes the Chippewa such a special place to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Chippewa Hotel and Pink Pony Bar are the best. Took a mid October couples trip. Perfect downtown location, close to everything. We stayed in waterfront rooms looking over the harbor.....relaxing and beautiful. Spacious clean rooms with comfortable beds, nice tv's and an awesome balcony. Bar hopped throughout town but ended up back at the Pink Pony where we always have the most fun. Appetizers at the bar are always great and dinner was also top notch.
Staff at front desk and bar/restaurant were pleasent and detail oriented. We'll be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year on second floor. I wasn't happy with the noise from the pink pony bar. Stayed on 4th floor this year and it was quiet. Fantastic view, polite and helpful staff and excellent bag porter(archie). Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the Chippewa hotel is wonderful! a great location and the staff is fantastic! the room was spacious and very clean. we try to stay at different places just for variety, but always end up staying at the Chippewa as it is just our favorite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blig92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $148 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing