We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What would I change?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nothing! This is the closest hotel to the Arnold ferry dock, but it didn't matter because our bags were promptly ported. The staff was personable and helpful at every juncture. The large room, 409, had a large seating area overlooking Main St. It was clean and well appointed. I slept well, awaking to the clop, clop of horse hooves. Had a good breakfast outdoors at the on premise Pink Pony patio. I'm ready to return just writing this note!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Chippewa Hotel on Mackinac Island, MI. Very clean and comfortable and peaceful at night. Staff couldn't do enough to help make our stay great. This was my first time on the island and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Beautifully kept and everyone was extremely helpful. The views are beautiful right on the water. They were spot on with getting our luggage transported to and from the ferry. We would absolutely recommend this hotel!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a great time as always at the Chippewa and Mackinac Island. Had stayed at the Grand Hotel in the past but changed to the Chippewa a number of years ago to take advantage of the great restaurants on the island.. Have always enjoyed the Chippewa's outstanding service, cleanliness and pleasant staff. The harbor views were great from our suite. Entertainment always is the best on the island at the Pink Pony.

Room Tip: Consider the Harbor View Suites, very roomy and the view can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Price is lofty but you get what you pay for. Über comfy mattress and sheets, sparkling clean, and conveniences at your fingertips. The sitting area is as big as your very own living room. Harbor views are stunning, yet quiet & peaceful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyMaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked a Harborview suite for my husband's birthday and we absolutely loved it! We had stayed in a Harborview room before at the Chippewa and it didn't disappoint. We only stayed one night and will stay two the next time. Our room overlooked the harbor so we were able to watch the boats come and go. We were a couple of flights up from the Pink Pony with live music in the afternoon so that was fun too.

The room was nice and bright, furnished with a small fridge and a microwave. It was wonderful to get up in the morning and watch the sun shining on the water. Having a cup of coffee in the morning while on the balcony was a plus also.

Since the Chippewa is right on main street, it is very easy to walk every where. This will definitely be the place to stay next time we spend a night or two on the island.

Room Tip: Get one over looking the harbor. It is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonandSheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We absolutely loved the location and accomodations of this hotel! Having the Pink Pony bar right next door/attached was a great addition. The accomodations were clean, staff was courteous and informative and the location was perfect! You are right in the heart of downtown! One person who was travelling with us had a room at the end of the hallway that was over the Pink Pony inside lounge, and she did say that she could hear the nightime entertainment into the evening when she was trying to sleep. While this bothered her a bit, I'm not sure it would bother everyone, as it was not obnoxious (and you can always request not to be placed there). My husband and I were down the hall a bit from her and we didn't hear a thing in our room. I would absolutely stay here again .... that's saying alot since I'm not a fan of most hotels ... very clean.

We had a Main Street deluxe room which was lovely, facing Main Street. The other guest we were with had the Main Street view double with twin (much smaller but sufficient in general since we booked late). Next time, I'm going to book well in advance and try to get a harbour view room with a balcony. The Main Street rooms were great (loved waking up to the sound of horses!), but facing the harbour would be picturesque.

We loved the food at the Pink Pony and closed every night with a rum runner at the outside bar -- being right on the harbour, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: Rooms that are not over the bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4 stayed in the water view side and loved it. Can't beat this place for price and location. Only thing that could make it better is a pool but hard to do at this location. This is right on Main Street and you have douds market which is right across the street which comes in very handy for anything you might need.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoosier7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $148 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing