We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms on the lakeside have an unbelievable view. Additionally, the service provided by the entire staff is second to none. My girlfriend and I only stayed one night at this hotel but plan on returning for three nights next year since we enjoyed our stay so much. By the way, the Pink Pony bar inside has an awesome atmosphere and the food is delsh!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upnorth300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were there during a cold, dreary two days and still had an incredible time on this magical island that I remember from my childhood. My most recent visit was 30 years ago, and despite the weather we were not disappointed. Our room, facing the lake, was phenomenal--spacious, private, quiet and relaxing. We arrived early and our luggage was taken immediately to the hotel. We strolled down Main Street, but were called within 30 minutes and able to move into our beautiful room. This was my 3rd visit to the island, but my husband's first. Chippewa was beautiful, clean and amazingly located.

Room Tip: Loved our two room suite on the water! Very spacious bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KARYNLS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had wanted to visit Mackinac Island for awhile. Vacation planning or lack of, enabled us to do some places that normally we wouldn't have enough vacation time to go for a visit. Early June, the hotel rates on this island are a little lower and off we went. Mackinac Island is truly like stepping back in time. The Chippewa is very good at recreating the time travel, while at the same time, offering up to date modern conveniences. The rooms are well equipped and clean. The hotel employees are very pleasant and professional. We had a toilet that had a leaky flapper and it was fixed, while we were at dinner. The hotel restaurants and lounges are very good. And the location can't be beat. Our room was facing the street, and we did not find the street noise to be an issue. We would definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are less expensive, but since one doesn't spend much time in their room...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notme2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a terrific property on main street in Mackinac Island. The hotel is kid friendly with complementary breakfast for the kids and good menu at the Pink Pony bar inside. We flew private and ended up getting fogged in and had to stay an extra day, not planned, but he staff found us another room and everyone made it an overall great trip. Thanks to the professional staff at the Chippewa!

Room Tip: The rooms on the water side are larger, we stayed in both! Both were nice, clean, and the beds were...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at the Chippewa. We stayed in the Lakeview suite. Perfect for our family! On Main Street but overlooking the harbor. It provided a peaceful and relaxing retreat. The room was spacious and CLEAN ! There is a kitchenette that allowed us to prepare some simple meals. Very comfortable. Staff is very friendly. The giant hot tub was a huge amenity on the colder days : ). Only complaint is that it was a bit noisy from within the hotel, but we always travel with a noise maker so that helped! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We always stay in a water front suite. Love the separate sleeping area and living room. The location is perfect. Love the morning and evening view. The pinky pony is right in the same place. Music is always good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Chippewa was very clean and quaint. I loved that the rooms were decorated differently from one another. It was like staying in your best friend's guest bedroom. I was jumping for joy when I saw the box fan in the room. I love having the fan going at night to block-out unwanted sounds. There was also a hairdryer and very nice soaps and lotions in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $149 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing