We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
OXF
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in a top floor, lakefront suite and was completely worth it. The view from the private balcony was amazing, great way to wake up and watch the freighters go by/ferries come in. The hotel is just at the edge of downtown, so it's easy enough to get everywhere. It is right next to the Arnold dock, so if you're arriving on Shepler's be prepared to walk. Unfortunately it rained almost the entire time we were there, so we cut our trip short. There's just not much to do with small children, in Mackinac, in the rain. We look forward to coming back for an adult only trip! That lakeside hot tub is amazing!

Room Tip: Top floor {less noise} and lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    195
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
322
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've been coming to Mackinac Island every year for the last 5 years. We like this hotel the best. The beds are wonderful and very comfortable. The 30 person hot tub/ pool is awesome at night. I love the spacious rooms and great service!! The Pink pony bar is right on the first floor. Its awesome to be back in time and hear the clip clops of the horses every morning when you wake up! Our family from 4 years old to 88 love this place!!

Room Tip: make reservations early!! fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is an elegant hotel, restaurant and bar in a very quaint town with loads of atmosphere. Our room was street side with a large window for watching the town awaken with the clip-clop of horse drawn deliveries to businesses. Then watching the store workers move their supplies inside, as they were left on the sidewalks by the delivery person. It definitely takes you back in time when there was a simpler and quiet life. The room was beautiful with nice bright colors but not too soundproof. We could hear people walking above us late at night, but then again, this is not a new hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in the Harbor View Two-Bedroom Suite on the second floor. The living room area was very spacious. Our private balcony was our home away from home. It was fabulous to sit out there and watch the ferry's come in, freightors go by, and yachts come in and stay at the marina next door. We listened to music from the band down below. The staff was tremendous and were available all day and night. We were met at the ferry where the bellhop took our baggage and put in our room for us. Very clean. Definetly thinking about return stay with them again.

Room Tip: didn't use pool or fitness center to be able to rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie_F42391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Gave you the old days feel with modern zing! Great staff/service. My wife and I honeymooned on the island and it was both of our first visit. Sunrise out the harbor suite was stunning to say the least. Room was very spacious, however not very sound proof. Could hear people in the halls and the Jacuzzi spa on the floor above us and the above rooms foot steps were annoying. other than that would stay with the Chippewa again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor side will be awakened at 9 am when the first Arnold line ferry leaves dock and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZDemler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the Queen Suites on the top floor and it was absolutely beautiful. It literally took our breath away when we first saw it. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and courteous. The bellhop met us at the ferry and took our bags to our room when we arrived and when we left he took our bags from our room to the ferry. I would recommend the Chippewa to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina have balconies and the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Chippewa Hotel. The room on the top floor gave us a great balcony view of the town, marina, and lake. The sunrise in the morning was beautiful and we could relax with a coffee in our room to enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing