We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Archie is AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Caro, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Archie is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Chippewa Hotel for many years now, in fact, we were married there on their patio! Archie has been there as long as we can remember. He is ALWAYS running to help someone! He always ensures that our bags are taken to our room, to the dock, and back again! This morning, we pretty much drove him crazy, we kept changing the time we were leaving. We finally settled on THE time, told Archie and he said "No worries, I'll see to your bags and make sure they get to the dock on time, AND if you give me your vehicle claim ticket I'll make sure they have your car ready upon arrival in Mackinaw City!" Well, we had about 45 minutes before our boat left, had been walking for about 30 and here comes Archie on a bicycle, all panting and out of breath! He peddled up and said, "Did you forget something"? He had our most important bag, the one with our laptop, e-readers and cash in it!!! In our frenzy to get out of the room we had forgotten it on the bed. Archie wasted NO time trying to find us, going up and down the street until he finally saw us. He is the best of the best! The Chippewa is very fortunate to have Archie Hart in their employ. We love the Chippewa. The entire staff eagerly welcomes us each and every time. The rooms are spotless, fresh and very clean! Thank ALL of you!

Wendy and Mark Conely

Room Tip: Forth floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyominginnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    189
    30
    18
    17
See reviews for
307
388
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the harbor with a balcony. The room was huge. The balcony is large with a table and 2 chairs. We enjoyed sitting out there watching the activity on the ferry dock and harbor. There is also a little frig in the room with a mini kitchen with microwave. The room was incredibly clean, even the carpet, which normally I don't like to walk barefoot in a hotel room. The place is convenient to everything. We were there 10/15-10/17, so the town was pretty quiet, but just a warning, if you don't want to be in the middle of action/noise you should probably stay somewhere else. I imagine that it could get loud if there are a lot of people staying there. No fault of the hotel, but we could easily hear people coming and going from their rooms and talking in the hallway. That kind of thing doesn't bother us, but if it would bother you, then keep that in mind. We'll definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You won't hear people above you walking around if you get a room on the 4th floor. The balcony r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAPOLEANcomplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Chippewa and it was fabulous. We had a suite, overlooking the marina, which was huge by hotel standards. Unfortunately the weather was awful but having such a great place to escape the rain and wind helped. We really enjoyed the Pink Pony as well. This was our first trip to the Island and hope to return again and stay at the Chippewa.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently I stayed at the Chippewa on Mackinaw Island, Michigan. The hotel had been renivated since my last stay and what a great job. The hotel was clean, well organized, and the staff was outstanding. I won't hesitate to go back, and look forward to the occaision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved the Chippewa! Great rooms, friendly staff, excellent location. We had three rooms and they all were exceptional. We arrived at 11:30 am, not expecting to check in that early, but one of the rooms was ready. They took our phone number and called when the other two were available. Great customer service! We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was just a lucky find for us. We were at the Grand Hotel when there happened to be a silent auction going on near the garden shop. I asked if I could bid on items because I was interested in staying on the Island the next night, and there happened to be this one-night stay at the Chippewa Hotel. I didn't know anything about it, being new to the Island, but it said "waterfront suite", so I thought it sounded good. Well, I won, and we were delighted with our prize! It was a beautiful two-bedroom suite with a balcony right above the pool and looking out over the water. The furnishings were just gorgeous with lots of crown molding and beautiful wood trim, marble counters, etc. Just a lovely place! The location was excellent, the room was quiet, and the whole experience was as perfect as it gets. We are very grateful for this experience.

Room Tip: This was October, so we didn't use the pool. Also didn't use the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livonia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Too much noise from the band.Couldn't get to sleep in my bedroom,so I slept on the couch. The rooms were clean and nice. The wirlpool also was very nice.But when I spend over $300 a night for a room I expect a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing