We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce hotel - great down town location - excellent view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

NIce room, good staff, killer view, great location. The hotel is a bit on the pricey side $355.00 before taxes. My wife and I were in room 202, a second floor, end room, king suite, that over looks both the Pink Pony and the water. The room is large comfy room. In reality it's a $150.00 room with a $200.00 view.

The bed is comfy, with a second sitting room. The hotel is located 1/2 block from the Arnold Ferry dock, and in the middle of down town. We did not notice any street noise at all. The Pink Pony bar and resturant is located down stairs (highly recomend).

You will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: if you are willing to spend a little extra - get an end room over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just spent two nights at the Chippewa, and we loved it. We were on the fourth floor, and had a room with a balcony with a harbor view. The view was fantastic! Both days that we were there there was someone playing music in the early evening down on the patio of the Pink Pony. We were able to relax on our balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the music and watch the boats come in an out of the harbor. Our room was a suite that was nicely decorated and sparkling clean. It had an AC unit in the harbor side room but not the bedroom, but with the ceiling fans both rooms stayed cool. I liked the Chippewa's location as it is on the edge of the very busy downtown and is diagonally across from the city park and right beside the marina. The Arnold Ferry dock is also very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRetireeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

my wife and i went to macinac island the day after our wedding for a pre honeymoon "honeymoon." we met some friends there and before we arrived they asked the front desk if our rooms could be closer. The lovely Julie upgraded us to water view honeymoon suite. complete with jacuzzi, balcony, living area, dual shower heads and an amazing view. Thank you Julie for all your help. We loved it. great location, great food and drink, great service!

Room Tip: get a view, its worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for my first visit to Mackinaw Island and I loved it! It was located right on the downtown strip and you are in walking distance of everything! The staff was super nice and helpful! Our room had an amazing view of the water and 25 person jacuzzi. My only complaint was the speakers were outside of our rooms for the jacuzzi and the music didn't stop until midnight, but it wasn't that bad. They also had a great breakfast. We called in advance and got a special coupon for a 10 dollar breakfast including a drink and tip which worked out really well! They also are attached to the Pink Pony bar which was a lot of fun as well! I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104 and it was right by the jacuzzi enterence which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madnotcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We LOVED our room. The AC was great to have, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was updated and nicely decorated. We requested a top floor room (fourth floor) to make sure the noise from the bar wouldn't bother us at night. Unfortunately both nights we were woken up by drunk people. The first batch consisted of drunk people singing and playing kazoos in the hallway, and the second batch consisted of a bunch of drunk middle-aged men who had set up a golf course in the hallway. We were too busy trying to get them to be quiet and trying to get our toddler back to sleep that we told management afterwards, and never heard back. (The drunks were quiet and apologized once we asked them to quiet down). Not for a family hotel stay, maybe for singles or people without kids.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor to avoid the noise from the bar at night. Don't stay here if you have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A2Dachshunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is my favorite hotel on Mackinac. Clean, comfortable and great location in town. We had a balcony so we could see the beautiful water The Lakeview Restaurant was very good.. The food was good (Whitefish sandwich) and the Sangria was very good. The staff was very inviting both in the hotel and the restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay on the island. If you are just looking for a good place to eat lunch or dinner this is where I go. You can eat indoors or outside with a nice view of the water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We thought the Chippewa was just right. Comfortable, air conditioning was great, but the staff were very helpful, one of the best aspects. We did not have a balcony and did not miss it because we were in the town most of the time. We heard clop-clop but not too often, not enough to wake us up. One of the best parts is being next to the Pink Pony, probably the best bar on the island. Have the BBQ Chippewa Chips - to die for!!! We would stay there again! We wish we would have read TripAdvisor to know that we could take Arnold Ferry which stops right next door, no need to pay to have our bags transported via bike. Thank you Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: High floors have less clop-clop from horses. Use Arnold Ferry which is right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisMegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $100 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing