We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby Township, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great times”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I went to Macinac Island the weekend of May 18, 19, and 20. We stayed at the Chippawa Hotel and partook in the patio/waterside bar activities at the Pink Pony. I am a drummer from way back and the live band playing that weekend allowed me to sit in. I felt right at home at this bar and found myself there for most of my meals. The food was excellent and the best bloody marys on the island. The Chpipawa and Pink Pony is a must stay, friendly staff, great food, and good times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    189
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
312
390
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Needed a room for 1 night only on holiday weekend. Chippewa hotel had the best rate and did not have a minimum 3 night stay. Stayed in the cheapest room, 1 dbl & 1 twin bed facing the street. To our surprise on a corner and had 2 windows a quaint street view, and a fanstastic water, light house view. As expected the room and bath are small but very comfortable, with a straight back chair and a comfortable chair, it is very clean. The floor slants, truthfully it was very tilted, due to the age of the building. We found it humorous, if you have a balance problem you should not stay in the end room. The noise of the street with the bars open and people yelling and the horses in the morning did not bother us because I pack a white noise machine and heard nothing while sleeping. The luggage handling was great unlike a previous experience with another hotel, all staff we encountered, front desk, restaurant, and maids were cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Floor tilts on end rooms. Bring a sound machine to cover sounds from street view rooms and lake sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was my boyfriend's and my second trip to Mackinac and the Chippewa. This hotel has such an awesome view! Waking up to looking out on the water is the best! The jacuzzi on the patio is great too.. but in the warmer weather it seems there's always a bunch of drunk kids in it. In both of our visits, we stayed on the main floor with a harbor view. Having the view and the jacuzzi right there is great, however at night time it is a bit loud at times. From our room we could constantly hear music from the bar.. it wasn't super loud or that annoying.. just kind of there. Also this past visit, kids were out being loud in the hot tub waaay past the closing time (11 pm). The Chippewa is in a great location, close to all the downtown action. Also, if you're in the room in the evening they bring you a snack of Oreos and milk which is super cute! If you stay here definitely take the Arnold Ferry.. it's right next door! All in all, we love the Chippewa and will likely continue to stay there for future visits.

Room Tip: Harbor view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Chippewa is always our hotel of choice on the island for the large balconies with the best water view! The Round Island Light House, marina, and shipping channel (to view the freighters) are all visable from the balcony. The staff are incredible both at the front desk (Julie and Whitney) as well as houskeeping who make everything so easy and effortless for the guests. We have been coming to the island several times a season for about 15 years now and always look forward to our stay at the Chippewa! See you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAGM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We picked up a room here at the last minute at a bargain price when we decided we wanted to spend one more day on the island and our B & B was already booked for the weekend. The 2 room suite was very cheerfully decorated and roomy. We had an end room so had windows on the side and the patio doors with a balcony on the end of the living room. It was a relaxing, enjoyable place to enjoy the island. The hotel is right on the main street where the shops and restaurants are. I would avoid rooms that overlook the street because of the noise. The elevator is very tiny. We ate at the restaurant downstairs. I wasn't impressed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out over the street. The suite on the end was especially bright and sunny since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

As always staying at the Chippewa never disappoints. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful in any way. They make a point of greeting you every morning and ask that if you need anything during your stay that you do not hesitate to ask. The rooms are exceptionally clean and bright with period decor and modern conveniences. Without a doubt, whether it is for a couples getaway or family trip the Chippewa is the place to stay. Being downtown and on the water will make your stay perfect.

Room Tip: Waterside suites are a great value and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FletchMAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed at the Chippewa during the off season. I chose the Chippewa because of the location and the fair price. It's in the downtown just down from the Fort and next to Arnolds ferry. The room was clean and that's all we asked for. The one cool thing is the age of the hotel. It's very old and charming. The pink pony was fun to eat and drink at.
We spent 2 nights on the Island and didn't spend much time in the room. So if you're looking for a clean charming place to stay. Stay here. And I must add, my girl friend and I got engaged on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geomm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing