We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good, memorable as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Curtis, Michigan
1 review
“Second stay as good, memorable as the first”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

What a wonderful time we had. Celebrated a wedding with a patio reception at Chippewa, overnite stay. Excellent bartenders, service, and staff (Nadine especially) kept everything above board. Nadine goes the extra mile to be pleasant and courteous while being tactful with persons trying to crash the party, smoke in no smoking areas and otherwise flaunt rules.
Can't wait to come back next year for R+R.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    205
    36
    18
    19
See reviews for
364
428
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at the Chippewa Hotel for Zoo de Mack. The location is great and it was easy to get to from the dock. I was greeted the moment I walked in by the friendly staff and was checked in to my room before the 3pm check in time. The room I had was much more than I expected. It had 2 beds and a large living room. There was even a little kitchen area with a microwave and fridge. The best part about the room was the balcony. It had a great view of the lighthouses and the boats. At night the housekeepers come knocking at your door for turndown service and bring milk and cookies. It was a nice little touch. I had a great time and can't wait to book the room for next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I'll begin by saying that you can't beat Chippewa in terms of its location right off the ferry dock on the waterfront on Mackinac Island. My friends and I were thrilled to have reserved 2 rooms in advance of the very crowded (and fun) Zoo de Mack biking weekend! But when you pay top dollar (around $600 for both rooms for a one night stay), it generally leads to higher expectations not ony in terms of service, but also overall maintenance of the property. After reporting the multiple flaws in one of our rooms, we learned that it was part of a larger room renovation that must've taken place in the off-season in preparation for spriing/summer tourists. It was clear that whatever renovations were underway were not completed. Molding and trim were clearly missing around doors and in the bathroom. Vanity lighting was not functioning, nor were outlets in the bathroom. The TV didn't work at all, which we're assuming was due to the obivous electrical issues pervading this room. Disappointing considering the property's overall charm. When we reported the issues we were greeted with the standard fickle attitude that we've become accustomed to on the island (unfortunately). Visitors may have better luck staying at a bed & breakfast on the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinkristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Would go back, had a blast, great staff, golf, drinks and the island

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labsrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Our stay at the Chippewa Hotel Waterfront was wonderful. It is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. The rooms which overlook either Main Street or the marina were clean and very charming. The hotel staff at the front desk, dining areas and the bar were professional and accommodating. Our lunch was excellent on the outdoor patio. The harbor view was impressive. Prices were reasonable, the food good and the servers friendly. Our evening at The Pink Pony Bar had a fun atmosphere with big screen TVs, live music and seating on big comfortable pink bar stools. Love the Pink Pony tee shirts!

Something worth mentioning. If you are a light sleeper and planning an overnight stay, you may want a room on the marina side. Our room was on the Main Street side. You could periodically hear the horse-drawn carriages going by as well as people going in and out of the bar. For me it added to the charm of the Mackinac experience but thought it was worth mentioning.

If you are visiting Mackinac Island, I would highly recommend staying at the Chippewa Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyPhotoLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed at the Chippewa at the end of August in their corner queen suite on the 3rd floor. Not only was the room great, but the view was amazing! Waking up each morning watching the sun rise over the straits was breath-taking (the amazing weather helped). It wasn't just the room, the staff was incredible too,especially Julie! Her and her front desk staff made us feel welcomed from the moment we walked in! Can't wait to come back for the 2011 season!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel was very clean. The staff was gracious and helpful from the moment of our arrival. The location was perfect. The restaurant at the hotel was great. The food was excellent and the staff was very professional.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treelady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing