We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel in a delightful locale.”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel in a delightful locale.”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite. With 3 teenagers, this was the perfect situation with 2 bedrooms, a large sitting room, and countertop with sink, small refrigerator, and ice maker. Otherwise, we would most likely have had 3 rooms. So, for the money, this worked perfectly and probably cost about the same. When we asked for a roll away, as there were only 2 beds, we were accommodated immediately. In fact, when they came to set it up, we asked if there weren't 2 rollaways available and voila! It was hot and there is no a.c., but with ceiling fans and open windows, it was just fine and there is always a bit of a breeze (more in the evening).
The location is right by the downtown Star Ferry line. Our baggage was brought up to our floor. There is no elevator in the hotel and the suite we were in is up on top of this old victorian. The room decor is very much in keeping with the cottage-y feel of Mackinac. The artwork is from various island artists and evokes the island.
We had breakfast supplies, so we could have cereal, milk, coffee and tea in the room. We had teacups and saucers supplied, along with a pitcher of milk. We dined in the restaurant on several occasions and thought the offerings were all quite tasty. The gazpacho was delicious and tangy. The smoked whitefish was served with capers, lemon, egg, and toasted baguette. After reading other reviews, I'm glad that we chose to eat here as much as we did. The setting by the harbor, and outdoor seating options with the spectacular gardens made one feel as though they really had gone back in time and we felt so relaxed on our vacation.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    66
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
157
347
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful! The scenery was beautiful, with a view of the lake right outside our window! The service was impecable, from the moment we entered the hotel, until the moment we left! I was thrilled when we returned from dinner to find our bed turned down, and blinds closed, it was absolutely amaxing, and I will go back year after year! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I have stayed in some very nice places, but never have I experienced such a friendly, helpful atmosphere with such a BREATHTAKING view! We strolled for our morning Starbucks and came back to the room just to watch the boats and the people out the window from the comfort of the spacious, clean, and beautiful room. When we venture back to the island for a getaway, we will never stay anywhere else. Thank you VERY much to the entire Hotel Iroquois family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmicpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The staff was wonderful and made the trip worthwhile. I was greeted at the dock by a lovely gentleman (Jim, I believe) who answered all my off-the-wall questions and took care of my many heavy bags. I have to say that the island would have been a disappointment because of the slow pace and over priced tourist attractions if it wasn't for the help and advise from the front desk staff. Suze was a gem! The room was perfect and so clean. Hotel is well maintained even though the floor squeeks. The food was to die for. The best bartenders on the island work there at the Carriage House. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, I never wanted to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Hotel Iroquois is a great hotel. It is at the end of the main street and walking distance from the ferry (Sheplars). From the start it was a great experience. Someone from the hotel (Alex) was waiting on the dock to collect our luggage. We're still amazed how he was able to carry 5 suitcases on his bike that only had a basket in the front. Everyone is very pleasant and profesionnal. Our room was on the third floor with a beautiful view of the water. It was very bright and cheerful and extremely clean. Spotless! The only 2 minor flaws was that it does not have air conditioning and the nights were a bit stuffy and the sound of the ferry horns woke up my teenage daughter before she wanted to get up. But then again, who wants to stay in the room when you're visiting Mackinac Island. We also ate (twice) at their restaurant, the Carriage House, and it was delicious. The service was wonderful. I hope to again visit Mackinac Island and can't think of staying anywhere else but at the Hotel Iroquois. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somanyoptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

A beautiful hotel situated just on the edge of the "business" district.    It was nice to be close to the hustle and bustle of all of the shops but not right in the middle of it.   The hotel is also just a few feet away from the ferry dock which was very convienant.    We stayed in a garden view room and were pleasantly surprised to find the room had a small balcony.   Although the view was limited it was very nice to be able to step out onto the balcony and see across the strait.    The Hotel Iroquios is truly a grand experience on Mackinac Island which  I would highly recommend.   Many thanks to a very helpful and courteous staff for making our stay so memorable.    

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My daughter and her husband gave us a two-night stay at Hotel Iroquois as a Christmas gift. They also came with their two little girls, and my other daughter and her husband also stayed. We had three rooms, and had an absolutely wonderful visit. We have stayed at four other places on the island (all comparable in price), but Hotel Iroquois is our favorite. We have visited at least seven times in the past years, and every stay is memorable. No rooms are similar, and each time we stay we think this last room was the best. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone--and have done so many times.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing