We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

In a Mackinac Suite at the Hotel Iroqoius overlooking the Straits of Mackinac even as I tap this out on my iPhone, waiting for my wife to finish her shower. My advice: Book a room here! The location and views are extraordinary, the rooms are delightful, the service is very friendly, and the food is very good. What's not to like? OK, maybe the bill. But I believe you'll find it to be worth it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
152
337
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

So, we thought we wanted to stay at this hotel and made reservations for three nights more than two months in advance. Well, plans changed and we had to cancel our reservation just two days after we made it. They charged a 5% "service fee" for the cancellation. Since our total stay was over $1200 (which we could barely stomach as was, but really wanted the "experience" that this hotel seems to offer from all the reviews here), the fee was $65. Not an "experience" I want again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrs_terebinthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

IV'E STAYED AT JUST ABOUT EVERY PLACE ON THE ISLAND AND THIS by far IS the best!
If you go DO NOT stay on main street and be a fudgie! You must explore the Island it self.
And be SURE to spend the night!!! It becomes magical after the last ferry leaves!
Susan

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Nice setting: In town, but not in the middle of the noise.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Iroquois is by far the most beautiful hotel on the island. Great location - you really are right on the water - and fabulous service. The Carriage House Dining Room (best food by far) only adds to the experience. I had the veal pecatta and it was oustanding.

This hotel garners a lot of praise filled with puffery, but the honest truth is that the people at the Iroquois care. They make tremendous efforts to make sure that your stay is nothing less than superb. What makes it even better is that they do this effortlessly - there's no pretention. It simply is the Iroquois.

The best thing about this hotel, as I found out, is that it's a family run business. They haven't lost that special touch. The owner of the past 50 years was still there to greet guests, and her attention to detail goes above and beyond. Fresh flowers, beautifully decorated and appointed rooms, top notch service - this is what every hotel should strive to be like. The front desk manager was very helpful and the maid service was amazing (everything is SO clean!). I recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying at places where the customer is still king, and the meaning of hospitality hasn't been forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler061Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I did considerable research in choosing a place to stay on Mackinac Island. We were extremely pleased with our final destination, the Hotel Iroquois. We arrived on a Wednesday and were very pleased to be upgraded from a garden view to a harbor view upon our check in. Staying in the fall also allowed a discount of 50% from regular rates at $108 plus tax per night. We were about 100 feet from the Starline Ferry and our luggage was picked up and delivered promptly. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the Cottage. Yes, it was pricey - however it was a conscious choice and we truly enjoyed the ambiance and great food and warm and friendly service from Katie, our waitress. We requested a special song from the piano player of which he did not know. However he took a short break and llstened to it on the computer and then came out and played it from memory - Perfectly! Our room was bright and cheery and absolutely spotless clean. Our bed was turned down and any used towels from the afternoon were replaced by the time we returned to our room each evening evening. The staff was eager to share tips about the Island and offered to help with other requests such as ice delivery and directions. Absolutely no reason to not want to return. And we will!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudNavyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up in Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

To call the Iroquois a "
B&B" is unfair, considering that it has the best restaurant on the island, the Carriage House. Just ate lunch there yesterday. Exquisite Scottish smoked salmon, perfectly plated Cobb salad - served on the verandah overlooking Round Island Passage, where competi]tors in the annual Port Huron-to-Mackinac sailboat race were crosing the finish line.
Not just a B&B at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing