We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place on the island”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best place on the island”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Nice setting: In town, but not in the middle of the noise.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
152
337
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Iroquois is by far the most beautiful hotel on the island. Great location - you really are right on the water - and fabulous service. The Carriage House Dining Room (best food by far) only adds to the experience. I had the veal pecatta and it was oustanding.

This hotel garners a lot of praise filled with puffery, but the honest truth is that the people at the Iroquois care. They make tremendous efforts to make sure that your stay is nothing less than superb. What makes it even better is that they do this effortlessly - there's no pretention. It simply is the Iroquois.

The best thing about this hotel, as I found out, is that it's a family run business. They haven't lost that special touch. The owner of the past 50 years was still there to greet guests, and her attention to detail goes above and beyond. Fresh flowers, beautifully decorated and appointed rooms, top notch service - this is what every hotel should strive to be like. The front desk manager was very helpful and the maid service was amazing (everything is SO clean!). I recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying at places where the customer is still king, and the meaning of hospitality hasn't been forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler061Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I did considerable research in choosing a place to stay on Mackinac Island. We were extremely pleased with our final destination, the Hotel Iroquois. We arrived on a Wednesday and were very pleased to be upgraded from a garden view to a harbor view upon our check in. Staying in the fall also allowed a discount of 50% from regular rates at $108 plus tax per night. We were about 100 feet from the Starline Ferry and our luggage was picked up and delivered promptly. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the Cottage. Yes, it was pricey - however it was a conscious choice and we truly enjoyed the ambiance and great food and warm and friendly service from Katie, our waitress. We requested a special song from the piano player of which he did not know. However he took a short break and llstened to it on the computer and then came out and played it from memory - Perfectly! Our room was bright and cheery and absolutely spotless clean. Our bed was turned down and any used towels from the afternoon were replaced by the time we returned to our room each evening evening. The staff was eager to share tips about the Island and offered to help with other requests such as ice delivery and directions. Absolutely no reason to not want to return. And we will!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudNavyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up in Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

To call the Iroquois a "
B&B" is unfair, considering that it has the best restaurant on the island, the Carriage House. Just ate lunch there yesterday. Exquisite Scottish smoked salmon, perfectly plated Cobb salad - served on the verandah overlooking Round Island Passage, where competi]tors in the annual Port Huron-to-Mackinac sailboat race were crosing the finish line.
Not just a B&B at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed at this hotel and it was just wonderful. The rooms and the entire Hotel was extremely clean. New crisp sheets applied to the bed everyday and fresh soft very white towels placed in bathroom daily. It is a family owned business and you can tell by all the extra touches. The restaurant is a little bit pricey and probably not something everyone could afford in this economy but the food was the best we ate during our stay. We visited the Grand Hotel, and yes it is grand but I would never choose to stay there over staying at the Iroquois. The staff was polite and helpful. The location of this property is ideal being on the water and close enough to all the shops and restaurants but far enough wasy (very end of the street) to give you peace at night. The only negative is they could lower the price a bit to give more people a chance to enjoy this special property.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twins5300
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We went up to Mackinac to enjoy the long holiday weekend and to celebrate my 50th birthday. We selected the Hotel Iroquois because it was right on the water. Although it was a little more money then we wanted to spend it was well worth it. If you wanted to run back to your room it was easy to get to. The lovely park to the west of the building was a great spot to sit and enjoy the kite flyers and the military band that played that day. Coffee & Tea were served in the bright and airy round room off the lobby each morning. It would have been nice if muffins or sweet rolls were put out as well - but it isn't a bed & breakfast. A small coffee pot/mini refrig/and micro in the room would have come in handy for our leftovers. Being situated at the end of the downtown area was nice - quieter as well. The room was adorable with all floral motif and white wicker. The bath room was a little small but looked brand new. The sheets and towels were quality (we were surprised they didn’t have those thick robes) that’s how nice it is. The hotel puts on fresh sheets each day and turns down your bed at night. We highly recommend this Hotel but if feels more like an Inn or Bed & Breakfast. The flowers around the building were spectacular. Charming accomodations that I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twins5300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Beautiful hotel. Our room was decorated nicely and the bathroom was stylishly updated. The TV in the room was tiny. If I remember right, it was 19 inches. We had a view of the ferry delivering people to the island. The downstairs area is comfortable with a nice lounge to watch a football game. Service was good. We didn't have any issues with our stay. It is located at the end of the main road on the island, so we could leave the window open at night and enjoy the quiet. The silence would break every once in a while by the hooves of the horses walking down the street, but it wasn't loud enough to keep us awake. I can imagine having issues with late-night noise with other hotels located further down the road, since there are many packed bars that let out at 2am.

Overall I recommend this hotel. It's a little pricey, but it comes with the territory on Mackinaw Island.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpsvsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing