We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Absolute excellence. Perfection from rooms to staff to the grounds to dining. We are returning in a couple of weeks with our grandchildren for a 3 night stay. An annual event for us that would not take place if we could not stay at the Iroquois.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the straits. Watch freighter go by, listen the water etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the review Jim. It was a pleasure to have your family here again this year and look forward to many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 668 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved this hotel! Very accommodating to our changes in plans for dinner, based on weather!\
Dinner was lovely and Lauren was a great server. The muffins at breakfast were delicious.
Not sure why the side porch was closed but would have been nice to eat breakfast out there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pianotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lemon blueberry muffins are a very old Mackinac recipe. They originated at the Carriage Lantern restaurant in the 1950's. Mrs. McIntire worked as a waitress there as a young lady and was given some of their recipes that are still used today in our Carriage House Restaurant thats name give remembrance of the McIntire wary beginnings on Mackinac Island. Our signature hot fudge sauce used on many of our homemade desserts is another great recipe from the Carriage Lantern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My mom and I came for a weekend and I can definitely see why it was rated "Best Small Hotel in the World" By Conde Nast! Beautiful beautiful hotel with lots of charm and very clean. The continental breakfast was quaint, the rooms were really nice & we ate dinner in the restaurant and it was top notch. We stayed in one of the waterfront rooms and it comes highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We can not take all the credit for your lovely stay overlooking the water. We are blessed with the amazing views and landscapes of the Straits of Mackinac right outside your windows. Each day has a unique beauty on Mackinac and we look forward to your return visits to enjoy many more of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed three nights in a waterfront room. It was a great experience. Our kids loved it. It is at the end of the "main drag" but out of the insanity. You walk into the room and see nothing but crystal blue water through all the windows. The hotel is charming, the restaurant is great, it is immaculate…on and on….

Room Tip: ask for waterfront rooms and one that does not look at all the picnic tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the kind words. We look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It was an incredible hotel with beautiful rooms and wonderful staff. The proximity to town was wonderful. The restaurant was one of the top three on the island and our experience on the island was only superseded by the stay at the Iroquois. The staff bent over backwards to please its guests and the cleanliness was excellent. This hotel is the best on the island and we will definitely go back and stay again!!

Room Tip: we were on the third floor room 319 and 311 and both were great windows allowed cool breeze and a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. With three generations of family working in the hotel daily, we strive to exceed your expectations and provide the kind of stay on Mackinac you will always remember. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at this charming smaller hotel as opposed to the larger Grand and we are very happy we did. The staff was very welcoming and efficient, from luggage delivery, to reception to housekeeping. Small touches like the welcome fudge and champagne, the handmade lilac soap and the lovely patterned sheets made our stay all the more special. We stayed in the Cottage Suite and couldnt have picked a more charming room with a beautiful view from the tiny balcony. And the location is perfect. Thank you Iroquois staff! While you are a long from California, we still hope to visit again someday! Oh and the Carriage House restaurant was great too!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJS092262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return soon from California, as Mackinac is the perfect summer getaway to enjoy the Northern Michigan weather and cooler summer nights. As a smaller boutique hotel we are fortunate to have many unique rooms with their own character. We are glad you enjoyed the Cottage Suite and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Location could hardly be better, just at the edge of downtown, with glorious views of the harbor and enchanting clip clop of carriage horses just outside. Clean rooms and public spaces with warm and courteous personnel from manager to housekeeping staff. We had rented two Deluxe Harbor Views rooms, one with a crib. We were delighted that we were given a courtesy upgrade to a corner suite room to accommodate the crib (and because it was available), perfect for our son, daughter in law, (and grandson), who were celebrating their wedding anniversary. The restaurant is worth eating in, good food, well managed, again, warm and accommodating.
The one factor that keeps me from picking "excellent" is the limited continental breakfast. Although the freshly baked sweets were good, and the fresh fruit welcome, the choices are sweet, high carb fare. Something savory, and perhaps yogurt, would have been most welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floors, especially the corner rooms, have best views but there is no elevator which could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandymgAnnArbor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $140 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing