We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unacceptable business practices”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unacceptable business practices”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

They didn't deliver our bags to the ferry because they were expecting us to meet them there and tip them. We were never told this, we were told it would be there on the mainland happily awaiting us. I would have tipped the porter graciously. Seasonal employees absolutely deserve this but how were to know we were supposed to meet them there we were told it was taken care of. Also there was no hot water and the walls are paper thin. Seriously, I could hear my dad blow his nose next store. We reserved two beds got one, they didn't seem to care what we wanted. Restaurant was delicious. But other than that seriously- no tip no bags? Incredibly unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hogiekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
152
337
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had a very wonderful vacation on Mackinac Island. Three days on enchantment. I wish that Hotel Iroquois hadn't ruined it as I was leaving. We checked out and they told us our luggage would be waiting for us at the Mackinaw City dock. When we got to the dock our luggage was not there. The Shepler's Ferry guy asked us if we checked with the hotel porter at the dock, which of course we did not because we were told everything was taken care of. He told us that the porters wait for tips and if you don't check in and tip them, they take your luggage back to the hotel. WHAT?! I would have gladly rolled my carry on bag the block to the dock if I knew that it would get "lost". Someone at that hotel dropped the ball big time and it is absolutely unacceptable.

Additionally, the rooms are next to the ferry dock, you will hear the 7 AM horns and final calls, so I hope you don't want to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a special trip for my wife as she had never experienced Mackinac prior to our visit. We reserved the Tower Suite on the 3rd floor and it was well worth the money. Watching thunderstorms roll over the Straights, watching the setting moon as it reflects on the water behind the lighthouses and listening to the water lull us to sleep. All of this from our bedrooms windows (14 of them to be exact)! The photo is just after a storm passed through and seeing it is so much better that the picture.

You cannot beat this location. The Carriage House restaurant is great for outdoor dining or just for an afternoon cocktail while enjoying the sun and breezes.

Service and Attitude were beyond reproach; everyone is nice and smiles from the staff go a very long way in helping you enjoy your day and stay.

We checked out some of the other hotels and they were nice but nothing tops this (including the overpriced Grand Hotel).

Book a stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: Make certain that you request one with A/C if the summer heat would bother you. But, even the hotte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Iroquois Hotel is located on the bay at Mackinac Island. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch sitting outside under an umbrella watching to ferries unload and pick up their passengers. I enjoyed a tasty Grilled Shrimp and Asparagas Salad with a fantastic Cosmo. The weather was perfect with no clouds and little wind. My husband has a Whitefish sandwich on homemade bread. The service was exceptional and the waitress as pleasant. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 5 night stay at The Iroquios Hotel. We have vacationed on Mackinac Island since 1989, missing just a few summers. This was our first time at the Iroquois and it was above and beyond any other hotel stay on the island. We are already planning to return in 2014.
First class, top notch, every corner clean, professional and polite staff, comfortable bed, luxurious bed and bath linens. We were in a Biddle Suite on the 2nd floor with a view of the harbor - the room is at the end of a hall so it was very quiet with no hallway noise. The continental breakfast featured delicious muffins and breads, obviously made fresh.
I can honestly say this is the perfect spot to experience the peaceful, restful, ambiance Mackinac Island offers to us who are lucky enough to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My first time on Mackinac. What a gorgeous and peaceful place.
We had reservations at The Iroquois Hotel on July 6th, due to this hotel being sold out- and had to stay for 2 nights (July 3rd and 4th) down the street at the Bay view Inn, which SUCKED.
We ate at the Iroquois hotel, outside on the patio for 3 nights in a row for the time we were on the island. The food at the Iroquois was not that great to be honest. and when we ordered a specific bottle of wine they sent out a different one as though we would not know... but... the atmosphere of this hotel and location of the outside patio eating area, and white linen table cloth atmosphere made up for the fact that the food is just ordinary and over priced. The china is awesome. (ha)
The rooms were spectacular! Clean and updated/ decorated and fresh fresh fresh! The patios on the tiny lobby area are so cute comfortable. This is a sexy place! Take your wife or gf for sure!!!! I did not see small children at this hotel. It seems to be an adult upper end quaint hotel.
It is easier to get the horse/taxi's from this location also. OH- my date said he knew the owner ( a woman) who was sitting outside on the patio and he waved at her and she waved at him but she never came over to our table to say hello personally. I thought that was odd that she did not stop by our table to personally say hello after he/we spent 3 nights eating there and spending over $1,000.00 on less than adequate food, and $600 on our room. Just sayin. There is not a lot of competition on this small Island, so this place is probably your best bet if you want atmosphere and clean rooms. If you want great food- I didn't have any. :(

Room Tip: The place is small- your room will be good but get one that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Hotel Iroquois July 3 thru 5th. We were very happy with the way Zach got us so quickly from the ferry to the front desk and ultimately to our room. The hotel was beautiful and the facilities were clean and wonderful. We have previously owned two
restaurants and were very impressed with Stephanie who was tending bar July 5th afternoon at their adjoining restaurant "The Carriage House." Her work ethics were above reproach on a very busy day and she seemed to be doing the work of 2 people. Definitely a beautiful location and well worth the stop. Thank you Hotel Iroquois!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuannHirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing