We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Impeccable island accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Impeccable island accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the time you get on the ferry to the island there is something really quite magical about Mackinac Island and the Hotel Iroquois fits right in with that theme: magical! I Have now stayed here twice now and can't get over how impeccably clean and well designed this hotel is. It's IMMACULATE! It should be noted that this is a VERY OLD hotel, yet it's cleaner and nicer than some of the top rated hotels I have stayed in across the US and Europe.

The SERVICE is first rate, feels like you have butler service like you are at a St. Regis but it's not, it's just island small hotel fantastic hospitality. You need ice, they will get it for you, you need silverware, no problem, oh champagne glasses, coming right up, AND FAST! this is the kind of service that goes a long way and is what you want in a relaxing hotel stay. I will not forget the service. I don't know that the service is the same in the high season as both times I have stayed here have been in the fall, but I can say the hotel was completely full the second time I stayed here and the service was EXCELLENT!

The indoor porches are absolutely majestic, I could lose an entire day sitting in the cozy chairs drinking coffee (which they have out all day!) and watching the horses and carriage go by. It's such a great atmosphere. They offer coffee, tea and a very light continental breakfast in the morning which is a nice touch. The baked in house muffins were a delight!

The prices are high in the peak season but well worth it as this is such a fabulous hotel with a great location, fantastic design and immaculate rooms! I will say the rooms are on the small side but that's to be expected in an antique property.

The interior design of this hotel along with the attention to detail in all that they do here CANNOT go unmentioned. It feels a little like Vera Bradley meets the beach in a wonderfully refreshing and serene way. If you enjoy history the hotel has old photos of the hotel from years past that are so interesting, they are displayed in the hallways which adds to the whole experience. What a great touch!

Staying here is a little like going back in time when service and hospitality mattered, yet with today's updates.

Almost forgot to mention the views, which are so amazing! If you crack the windows you can hear the waves of lake Michigan calling you out to play, swim or bike around the island.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room and the higher the floor the better, it's well worth the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNandSANDLOVER77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    63
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
145
319
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Hole Wy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There is nothing more beautiful than sitting on the patio overlooking the straits of Mackinac and enjoying a great meal at the Iroquois. The accomodations at the hotel were also spectacular, with breaktaking views in all directions! If you want a view of the water, this is the absolute best dining location on the Island!

Room Tip: Any room with a view will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I, plus our friends, spent two nights at the Iroquois this week. While we have eaten in their restaurant in the past, this is our first stay at the property. What can I say... Beautiful room overlooking the harbor and a gracious and helpful staff made this a delightful experience. Our reservation came with a simple (but delicious) continental breakfast served in a room off the lobby. We also ordered a pot of coffee delivered to our room so we could sit in two comfy chairs by the windows and watch the sun rise over the harbor. We've stayed at two other properties on the island, including the Grand, and this is the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudingtonMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were so excited when the ferry pulled up to the dock and our hotel was right there. Couldn't be more convenient. Nice room. Fabulous location within walking distance to the Grand Hotel etc. Everyone was friendly when we checked in and when we left but in between we might as well have been invisible. We weren't acknowledge when we walked by the reception desk (which you have to do when you enter and leave the hotel). Housekeeping was good except I had to leave them a note to change a light bulb above the bed.

Room Tip: We had a Garden room on the second floor. From the balcony we had views of the lake and main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern IL.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying here at the Iroquois. First time was 25 years ago on our honeymoon. We booked the same room we had back then, which was a 3rd floor tower suite overlooking the straights of Mackinac and the light houses. The view is incredible with all the windows in the tower sitting room. Bathroom is updated and very nice. Staff was very helpful and accommodating as I was planning a surprise renewal of vows for my wife. Being right down on the main street is handy to all the shops but the Iroquois Hotel is at the end of the shopping area, so it is pretty quite...until the ferrys blow their horn when they start running in the morning but one can say that is part of the charm. We have stayed in another smaller room in years past and still very much enjoyed it. We left two days before our departure to the mainland to stay at the Grand Hotel but we were very sad to leave the Iroquois. Not to take anything away from the Grand Hotel, which it nostalgic in its own way, for the money and the view, it is very had to beat Hotel Iroquois!

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book one of the tower suites foe special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend recommended that we stay at the Iroquois rather than at the Grand because the Iroquois is so well located. We are very grateful for that recommendation. The hotel was absolutely charming. Our rooms overlooked the beautifully landscaped grounds and we could watch the ferries coming and going from our bay window. There were flowers everywhere. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel were just beautiful. We could walk down the main street to all the shops. We took a $14 cab ride to tour the Grand and were easily able to walk back downhill. The Iroquois was a highlight of our trip around Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for our 10th anniversary. If you take the Star Line Ferry the hotel is within a very short walk. A porter from the hotel is there at the Ferry to grab your bags and deposit them to your room which if we had known in advance how close the hotel was we wouldn't have needed to use the porter. The hotel excels at service and friendly staff. When requesting something from the main desk, our needs were immediately addressed. Our room was immaculately maintained. The hotel is situated on the shore and has great views in a beautifully landscaped setting. They serve a light continental breakfast of fruits, pastries, OJ and coffee which was plenty for us. There is a very charming and cozy atmosphere to the hotel and a few comfy places in communal areas to sit and watch the goings on in the street. My dissapointments center around certain aspects of the room. As it was our anniversary I opted for a room with a view of the water and it included a deck. I paid over $400 a night for it. So for that price I was quite disappointed by the bathroom which was dated (not in a good way) and it was very basic. There was next to no counter space and it took me a while to find and figure out how to operate the hair dryer which was in the closet hallway. Once you entered the room there was a step up to the beds so anytime you left the room or wanted to use the bathroom you had to step down a step. I had to constantly remind myself when I used the bathroom in the night that I had a step to negotiate and my husband actually did trip on the step once during the day. There were no dressers in the room. Although we did have a deck with a great view, so did our neighbors on both sides and although our decks were sectioned off by white picket fencing it was hardly private. I suppose if they did build privacy walls betweeen each room that might detract from your view so you sacrifice the privacy for a great view. Also, we were on the first floor and down below the deck the hotel seemed to house a lot of maintenance stuff. It kind of detracted from the experience looking down and seeing all that stuff. I've paid $400 a night in other tourist places and got quite nice rooms so in comparison with previous experiences it was disappointing. All in all it is a very nicely maintained, very well run hotel with a cozy atmosphere. If I were to stay here again I would not bother to pay the extra charge for a room with a view of the water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing