We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
North Liberty, Indiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were so excited when the ferry pulled up to the dock and our hotel was right there. Couldn't be more convenient. Nice room. Fabulous location within walking distance to the Grand Hotel etc. Everyone was friendly when we checked in and when we left but in between we might as well have been invisible. We weren't acknowledge when we walked by the reception desk (which you have to do when you enter and leave the hotel). Housekeeping was good except I had to leave them a note to change a light bulb above the bed.

Room Tip: We had a Garden room on the second floor. From the balcony we had views of the lake and main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
154
339
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern IL.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying here at the Iroquois. First time was 25 years ago on our honeymoon. We booked the same room we had back then, which was a 3rd floor tower suite overlooking the straights of Mackinac and the light houses. The view is incredible with all the windows in the tower sitting room. Bathroom is updated and very nice. Staff was very helpful and accommodating as I was planning a surprise renewal of vows for my wife. Being right down on the main street is handy to all the shops but the Iroquois Hotel is at the end of the shopping area, so it is pretty quite...until the ferrys blow their horn when they start running in the morning but one can say that is part of the charm. We have stayed in another smaller room in years past and still very much enjoyed it. We left two days before our departure to the mainland to stay at the Grand Hotel but we were very sad to leave the Iroquois. Not to take anything away from the Grand Hotel, which it nostalgic in its own way, for the money and the view, it is very had to beat Hotel Iroquois!

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book one of the tower suites foe special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend recommended that we stay at the Iroquois rather than at the Grand because the Iroquois is so well located. We are very grateful for that recommendation. The hotel was absolutely charming. Our rooms overlooked the beautifully landscaped grounds and we could watch the ferries coming and going from our bay window. There were flowers everywhere. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel were just beautiful. We could walk down the main street to all the shops. We took a $14 cab ride to tour the Grand and were easily able to walk back downhill. The Iroquois was a highlight of our trip around Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for our 10th anniversary. If you take the Star Line Ferry the hotel is within a very short walk. A porter from the hotel is there at the Ferry to grab your bags and deposit them to your room which if we had known in advance how close the hotel was we wouldn't have needed to use the porter. The hotel excels at service and friendly staff. When requesting something from the main desk, our needs were immediately addressed. Our room was immaculately maintained. The hotel is situated on the shore and has great views in a beautifully landscaped setting. They serve a light continental breakfast of fruits, pastries, OJ and coffee which was plenty for us. There is a very charming and cozy atmosphere to the hotel and a few comfy places in communal areas to sit and watch the goings on in the street. My dissapointments center around certain aspects of the room. As it was our anniversary I opted for a room with a view of the water and it included a deck. I paid over $400 a night for it. So for that price I was quite disappointed by the bathroom which was dated (not in a good way) and it was very basic. There was next to no counter space and it took me a while to find and figure out how to operate the hair dryer which was in the closet hallway. Once you entered the room there was a step up to the beds so anytime you left the room or wanted to use the bathroom you had to step down a step. I had to constantly remind myself when I used the bathroom in the night that I had a step to negotiate and my husband actually did trip on the step once during the day. There were no dressers in the room. Although we did have a deck with a great view, so did our neighbors on both sides and although our decks were sectioned off by white picket fencing it was hardly private. I suppose if they did build privacy walls betweeen each room that might detract from your view so you sacrifice the privacy for a great view. Also, we were on the first floor and down below the deck the hotel seemed to house a lot of maintenance stuff. It kind of detracted from the experience looking down and seeing all that stuff. I've paid $400 a night in other tourist places and got quite nice rooms so in comparison with previous experiences it was disappointing. All in all it is a very nicely maintained, very well run hotel with a cozy atmosphere. If I were to stay here again I would not bother to pay the extra charge for a room with a view of the water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited the hotel again this year after a fantastic stay last year. It was just as enjoyable the second time. Great rooms, views, gardens, restaurant, and location with an accommodating staff. Can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Book early and chose one of the first floor rooms with a balcony viewing the water and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel was recommended by family member. It did not disappoint. This was our first trip to the Island. Our only disappointment was the fact that our 3 rooms were on 3 different floors. We had made reservations in early July for Sept. arrival & had requested our rooms be together. The hotel is an historical hotel. The rooms are small, but meticulously cleaned. The turn down service at end of day is a luxury. The location at the end of Main St. made for beautiful views from our room (203). We requested a balcony, which we had with a view of the water. However, we had to turn sideways to go thru the small door & could only stand on the balcony. Be aware there is no central air in this hotel. Some rooms do have a unit on the wall (203 did) which we did not have to use. However, in the heat of the summer, this could be a problem. Our friends had a 3rd floor room (306) with no air. The windows have shutters on them . . if you leave the windows open at nite & lock the shutters . . the wind causes the shutters to vibrate, making noise at night. We learned on the second nite to put furniture against the shutters to silence them. On the first floor, the "balcony" rooms are not private . . but 3 rooms share a large porch with comfy wicker furniture overlooking beautiful garden. Don't get me wrong . . the hotel is wonderful, service is great. And an added note . . .ice comes from room service . . but they were quick & would bring 2 ice buckets at a time. It was never a problem.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If this is a problem, request the 1st floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfiel, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

By far the best place we stayed on this trip. It is right at the end of main street - out of the noise, but very accessible - on the harbor with great views and incredible gardens. The food was fantastic - in fact I think it's the best place to eat on the island! The front desk and the restaruant staff made sure that everything was perfect! Eating breakfast on the round porch was a treat.

Room Tip: We had a 'garden view' room as my husband has problems with stairs and it was wonderful even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyNoelWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing