We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend recommended that we stay at the Iroquois rather than at the Grand because the Iroquois is so well located. We are very grateful for that recommendation. The hotel was absolutely charming. Our rooms overlooked the beautifully landscaped grounds and we could watch the ferries coming and going from our bay window. There were flowers everywhere. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel were just beautiful. We could walk down the main street to all the shops. We took a $14 cab ride to tour the Grand and were easily able to walk back downhill. The Iroquois was a highlight of our trip around Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Iroquois
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 660 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for our 10th anniversary. If you take the Star Line Ferry the hotel is within a very short walk. A porter from the hotel is there at the Ferry to grab your bags and deposit them to your room which if we had known in advance how close the hotel was we wouldn't have needed to use the porter. The hotel excels at service and friendly staff. When requesting something from the main desk, our needs were immediately addressed. Our room was immaculately maintained. The hotel is situated on the shore and has great views in a beautifully landscaped setting. They serve a light continental breakfast of fruits, pastries, OJ and coffee which was plenty for us. There is a very charming and cozy atmosphere to the hotel and a few comfy places in communal areas to sit and watch the goings on in the street. My dissapointments center around certain aspects of the room. As it was our anniversary I opted for a room with a view of the water and it included a deck. I paid over $400 a night for it. So for that price I was quite disappointed by the bathroom which was dated (not in a good way) and it was very basic. There was next to no counter space and it took me a while to find and figure out how to operate the hair dryer which was in the closet hallway. Once you entered the room there was a step up to the beds so anytime you left the room or wanted to use the bathroom you had to step down a step. I had to constantly remind myself when I used the bathroom in the night that I had a step to negotiate and my husband actually did trip on the step once during the day. There were no dressers in the room. Although we did have a deck with a great view, so did our neighbors on both sides and although our decks were sectioned off by white picket fencing it was hardly private. I suppose if they did build privacy walls betweeen each room that might detract from your view so you sacrifice the privacy for a great view. Also, we were on the first floor and down below the deck the hotel seemed to house a lot of maintenance stuff. It kind of detracted from the experience looking down and seeing all that stuff. I've paid $400 a night in other tourist places and got quite nice rooms so in comparison with previous experiences it was disappointing. All in all it is a very nicely maintained, very well run hotel with a cozy atmosphere. If I were to stay here again I would not bother to pay the extra charge for a room with a view of the water.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited the hotel again this year after a fantastic stay last year. It was just as enjoyable the second time. Great rooms, views, gardens, restaurant, and location with an accommodating staff. Can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Book early and chose one of the first floor rooms with a balcony viewing the water and park.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkM386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel was recommended by family member. It did not disappoint. This was our first trip to the Island. Our only disappointment was the fact that our 3 rooms were on 3 different floors. We had made reservations in early July for Sept. arrival & had requested our rooms be together. The hotel is an historical hotel. The rooms are small, but meticulously cleaned. The turn down service at end of day is a luxury. The location at the end of Main St. made for beautiful views from our room (203). We requested a balcony, which we had with a view of the water. However, we had to turn sideways to go thru the small door & could only stand on the balcony. Be aware there is no central air in this hotel. Some rooms do have a unit on the wall (203 did) which we did not have to use. However, in the heat of the summer, this could be a problem. Our friends had a 3rd floor room (306) with no air. The windows have shutters on them . . if you leave the windows open at nite & lock the shutters . . the wind causes the shutters to vibrate, making noise at night. We learned on the second nite to put furniture against the shutters to silence them. On the first floor, the "balcony" rooms are not private . . but 3 rooms share a large porch with comfy wicker furniture overlooking beautiful garden. Don't get me wrong . . the hotel is wonderful, service is great. And an added note . . .ice comes from room service . . but they were quick & would bring 2 ice buckets at a time. It was never a problem.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If this is a problem, request the 1st floor,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

By far the best place we stayed on this trip. It is right at the end of main street - out of the noise, but very accessible - on the harbor with great views and incredible gardens. The food was fantastic - in fact I think it's the best place to eat on the island! The front desk and the restaruant staff made sure that everything was perfect! Eating breakfast on the round porch was a treat.

Room Tip: We had a 'garden view' room as my husband has problems with stairs and it was wonderful even...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyNoelWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I know a lot of people only review things when they have a negative experience, so I'm writing this to tell of our EXCELLENT experience at Hotel Iroquois. It is an older hotel, but you would never know it by how meticulously clean it is kept. We saw staff cleaning the wicker furniture and washing the street each day. That's cleanliness! Our room, 321, was beautiful with a view of the garden and the water. The decor in the whole hotel is very charming and has a sea-side feel. The gardens are fabulous. The extra touches, like fresh cut flowers & ice water w/ lemon in the lobby, the bakery continental breakfast and the turn down service put this hotel above anywhere we've ever stayed. It's pricey but worth it. Someone else's review mentioned noisy kids. We experienced that, too (what's with parents?!) but we called down to the front desk, and they took care of it. Not much else I can say but that it is wonderful! Perfect location, right next to the ferry, close enough to the main street but out of the way of all the craziness and noise. It didn't even have the manure smell. Right next to a boardwalk, too, for a nice walk at any time. Highly, highly recommend. Oh, and there's no elevator, but they told us that on the phone when booking. If you don't like stairs, just book on the main floor. You'll get a private porch.

Room Tip: Room 321! Amazing view, beautiful decor. And air conditioner if you need it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

There is no elevator so request a lower floor room if needed. The Biddle Point room has surround window views of the Harbor, Governor's retreat, as well as the Fort. This property is maintained with excellent care. The various breezy rooms, porch and patio eating are a treat for the soul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank otisokansascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $140 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing