We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackinac Island Bike Shop

Mackinac Island Bike Shop
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rented for four 7 speed bikes to ride around the island from the Mackinac Island Bike Barn. We got there around 7:10 pm and they close at 8pm. The usual rate is $7 an hour but they have a special at that time of night for $14 per bike and you can have them to midnight. We just brought them back when finished and locked them up. What a blast. We rode all over the island and being later in the evening the streets were not as crowded. We definetly got our monies worth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffourplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bike rentals are everywhere on the island. Many of them are the same company with multiple locations. The actual Mackinac Island Bike Shop is a good choice. They offer good bikes and include baskets and water for free. Be sure to decide as a group where you're going before you take off on the main drag. It's very busy and too hard to talk when you're in that busy area. Once you're out of town it's easier to talk while you ride. Watch out for horses and pedestrians. I've found that the walkers are more unpredictable than the horses and have a bad habit of stepping out in front of bikes. I'm surprised more people aren't hit. Be sure to get a bike with a rear fender. It will prevent things from being thrown onto your back by the tire, and you'll find yourself going through puddles on the road even on a sunny day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Most fun for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My family rented a tandem and 2 women's bikes. The line was long but moved along. I would suggest getting your bikes early, do all of your biking, then return and do your shopping. There was literally a sea of people and bikes as soon as you get off the ferry but once you leave Main Street the bike path is beautiful. We appreciated the water they gave you and the prices were inline with other companies. It was a lot of fun for the whole family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmurray942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great experience with our bike rentals. (The perfect weather probably helped!) We rented bikes for 4 adults and 3 little children. When all was said and done we had a tandem bike, two comfort bikes, a Burley and a tag along bike. The price was reasonable. The employees were extremely helpful. We accidentally left our stroller at the shop and didn't realize it until we were on the ferry. We called and they actually took our stroller down to the dock to put in on the next ferry. We really appreciated their help. I can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Bikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The service was great with lots of employees ready to help. The bikes were newer and in great condition and included baskets and a free bottle of water. Plus, they don't take a deposit which is a great feature!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank djkoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackinac Island Bike Shop also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing