We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, it's average.”

Island House Bike Shop
Ranked #1 of 16 Shopping in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bike the M-185, the only state highway prohibiting motor vehicles with a rental from Island House Bike Shop. Stop along the way for a picnic. Sites along the way include the Straits of Mackinac, St. Ignace, Mackinac Bridge, Devil's Kitchen, Arch Rock, British Landing and more
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A bike shop is a bike shop. What can you really say? It was a tad on the expensive side, but everything on the island is expensive. It came with a free bottle of water, so that was nice. The bike seemed a bit too big for me and for some reason I felt horribly unbalanced. I don't know if it was the enormous basket on the front or what, but I felt like I had never ridden a bike before! The seat of the bike was very comfortable, we were happily surprised about that. We loved seeing the island via the bike paths. They seemed sturdy and it good condition.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank TrinityDiodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"upon return"
in 3 reviews
"free water"
in 5 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 2 reviews
"fast service"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"in great shape"
in 3 reviews
"paved road"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"great ride"
in 3 reviews
"basket"
in 33 reviews
"rental"
in 24 reviews
"helmets"
in 14 reviews
"burley"
in 6 reviews
"tandem"
in 8 reviews
"island"
in 101 reviews
"perimeter"
in 10 reviews
"height"
in 5 reviews
Filter

142 - 146 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

This bike shop should not be a category. I was most surprised that for an island that has no cars and depends on pedal power, that the staff at these shops do not know how to fit a bike or else they just don't bother. This particular shop (past the Fort on the right from downtown) did not offer a map, charged $2 for a water, and fit me with a bike too long for me. They also did not know how to fit the seat to the person. Terrible staff!
The worst though....NO FENDERS on the bikes. We got caught in a rain storm and ended up with "fudgie stripes" down the back of our shorts from the horse mess in the roads. Why would anyone rent bikes to visitors without fenders?! Terrible.

Date of experience: June 2012
3  Thank LouisMegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place had great quality bikes and had an easy/quick rental system. Big cushy bike seats, bottle of water and pay at the end. Great value with lots of bike options. Nice and helpful staff.

1  Thank LloydDob89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

There were so many bike shops downtown I just arbitrarily picked this one because they offered maps of "self-guided tours." There wasn't any additional or interesting information on the maps and really I could have printed it at home and gone anywhere.

Though I requested a helmet at the counter, they didn't give me one when I went to pick up my bike. But I just went with it (though the entire time riding I was regretting not insisting on one).

The one thing I didn't like is that as a female they had zip-tied a fake pink flower on the handle bars. Unnecessary!

The price seemed about average and the bike was comfortable and seemed to be well maintained.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank jvanleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The only thing to complain about here is the price. If you have your own bikes and are willing to drag them with you, pay a small fee for taking it across on the ferry to the island. It would be worth it. Cost us $60 but 2 bikes and a burley for our toddlers. All for a total of a little over 2 hours.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Fruchtnichts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island House Bike Shop also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Island House Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing