We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun and Beautiful experience”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I've been coming to the Grand Hotel since 1985, with family and with friends. It is an historic hotel with a wonderful atmosphere. This is not a Motel 6.

Part of the experience is dressing for dinner (no jeans or shorts after 6pm), how often do we do that these days? With a rotating menu, there are always delicious choices for dinner and dessert. After dinner, enjoy a demitasse in the parlor while listening to a harpist or pianist or look at the stars on the front porch. Furniture in the parlor is positioned as to create conversations between strangers, and there are always people chatting on the porch.

Breakfast is awesome, either order from the menu or enjoy the buffet. Breakfast and dinner are included in most packages (other than the bed and breakfast), the lunch buffet is not included but has become a tradition for me. After eating a few meals, walking the beautiful grounds of the hotel and island are necessary in order to not gain too many pounds! :)

Walking the grounds and gardens, swimming, enjoying the hot tub, wandering through the hotel and checking out the nooks and crannies is fun for all ages. No two rooms are decorated the same. The staff is friendly and everyone will answer your questions or direct you to the proper person.

On my last trip in October 2010, I became engaged on the front porch of the Grand Hotel. It was after dinner, on the front porch, underneath the stars. How romantic.....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helgak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,442 - 2,448 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have always loved the Island and I'm a big history buff. I have longed to stay at The Grand Hotel. We booked at a bargain rate but were treated first class. We had a room with beautiful views and great period decor. We sat on the porch with a glass of wine and listened to the clip clop of horses going by. We were even treated to a passing freighter. Our dinner was excellent and the wait staff was outstanding. Be sure to get the Grand Peacan Ball for dessert! The room was quiet and comfortable. It is located a comfortable walk from town but we spent all of our time just relaxing and exploring the hotel grounds. It was truly a memorable stay and will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fusie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Grand on a few occasions, both with my husband and daughter, and with my mom. The one thing that always stands out in my experience is the outstanding treatment of guests by the staff. They treat guests like I would always like to be treated, but so often find my experiences as a traveler "wanting". I am writing this review from Key West, and have remarked to my husband that I am not in a hurry to come back. I feel like somewhat of a nuisance. I would rather spend my (hard-earned) money someplace where I feel that I am welcome.
My husband and I arrived @ the Grand one evening to find that our 5 year old's doll had been left behind in our car on the mainland. The mgr @ the Grand made an attempt to have the valet staff retrieve the doll (not a request on our part), and when this was unsuccessful, she brought her a stuffed puppy to be her friend for the night, explaining that the puppy could be friends with her doll when we arrived home. This was all done without any input from us, and we were staying in one of the very cheapest rooms, at the "Michigan resident special rate". We were treated as though our 5 year old was a very important guest, when we had paid much, much less than the normal rate.
On another visit, my very elderly mother-in-law came without warm enough clothes, and she went to the dining room not dressed per the dress code. My husband expressed concern that staff may "bother" her, but I assured him that the staff would treat her with the utmost respect. She was treated in a lovely manner by all the staff at all times, even though she was dressed quite differently from most of the other guests.
I have never been treated in a manner that is any way but excellent by ANY staff member.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank layner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I have gone to the Grand Hotel every year since 1995, sometimes more than once a year. We have always been very pleased with the accommodations, the food and the amenities offered, including the nightly dancing. We have had a nice experience each and every time and have always met great people while staying at the Grand. Having hosted a wedding at the Grand Hotel as well as enjoying cocktails and dancing after our son's wedding on the Island, we have experienced a number of different celebrations while there and each time has been great. Our thanks to the Grand and our hope that the Grand continues to offer the amenities that it has in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My family and I have visited the Grand Hotel over 17 times, and each time it's like we're wlecomed to our real home. I absoulutely love the Grand, it's dinners each night in the Main Dining Room, are outstanding and their service waiters and mater d's are excellent, in fact my children know their favorite waiters by heart. The Grand treats you like royalty and MAKES you relax, there are countless activities to do, if your scared of the price, go on a package, like the buy 2 get one night free! It's so worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balovestclairMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We have had the privilege of staying at the Grand on three occasions and each visit was perfect, without a flaw. The rooms are elegant as are the public spaces and the dining room and the food and service is excellent . Walking the grounds and around the island is very beautiful and the carriage rides fun. We love the Grand and will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwhelan136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I have gone to the Grand yearly for about the last 7 or 8 years and plan on going twice this year. Everything here is better than top notch, and I mean EVERYTHING - the atmosphere, food, rooms, and service. The first time we stayed there I actually remarked to my wife that I felt we were in a play where everyone's role around us was to make sure we were completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay. What made it profound was that it wasn't an act - it was all genuine. We have all stayed places where it was obvious the attention from hotel staff was only due to the necessary "have-to" requirement for guests, but here at the Grand Hotel, it is a "want-to" attitude which is very easy to distinguish from the others. Go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eschweigert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
4.7 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $384 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing