We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel rewards residents of Michigan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel rewards residents of Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

At the beginning and the end of each season, the Grand Hotel offers a special deal for Michigan residents on a first come, first served basis. An ad will appear in the newspaper giving the number and the start time for calling. Just keep hitting redial. For those of you who do not know, Mackinac Island has no cars. You may walk, ride in a horse-drawn carriage, or ride a bicycle. For an unimaginably low price per person, Michigan residents are able to enjoy the following: the ride up to the hotel in a horse-drawn carrigae, afternoon tea, a welcoming cocktail party with exquisite hors d'oeuvres prior to a marvelous dinner with choices of a variety of appetizers, soups, a salad, entree`s, and desserts. Dinner is 5 star, so you must dress accordingly. Ballroom dancing is available afterwards. Rooms are all the same price, assigned in the order that you called (ours had a lovely third floor balcony overlooking the golf course and Lake Huron). The following morning, we received our choice of a lovely buffet or our choices off the special menu. (We chose the menu) A round of golf was included, but we had done that many times and so preferred to wander around inside the hotel, enjoying the shops and historical rooms. There is also a quaint town with lovely homes to see on your walk. We also went outside to wander the labyrinth and enjoy the landscaping. The day before, we had enjoyed drinks at the bar atop the hotel, where we were able to see the Mackinac Bridge both by daylight and lit up at night. We also received a discount on the hydrofoil (boat) ride to the island. We left our luggage dockside at the baggage deposit and it arrived in our room after we had checked in. For those of you not fortunate enough to live in Michigan, you can enjoy all these things from late Spring through Summer, just not at the same price. The town is on the waterfront, so you can pop in for a meal, snack, or beverage, if you so desire. Of course, you can bring home souvenirs of your visit to the fort, etc.
This is where they filmed "Somewhere in Time". We have been to the island many times. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had been to Mackinac Island once as a teenager and we had always intended to stay at the Grand Hotel some day. We came here in late August of 2010 and the weather was perfect. Approaching the hotel it is indeed majestic and imposing, inside it is truly beautiful. You get a bit of a strange feel because the staff is very segregated by race: most servers are black Jamaicans, valets are Asian women, and managers are white. I wish they would address this, but the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful and while our low-price room was unremarkable, it was welcoming. TV's were larger than the 9'' screen many people have mentioned. I was amazed by their art collection at the hotel, while I'm not a huge art fan, I was amazed that they had many beautiful works by famous 19th century artists like John Singer Sargent. Some of these paintings were certainly worth millions of dollars alone.

Dining was good. The buffet as mentioned was slightly sub-par but I'm not picky when I have all my breakfast favorites. Dining room was beautiful and the size and the presence of the beautifully attired guests and waiters made me feel like I was stepping back in time. We dined at the Woods one night and was pleasantly surprised by the intimacy and beauty of this Bavarian-style lodge. Food was excellent and plentiful. I enjoyed the 1920's bowling alley there.

The grounds are beautiful, the pool and the pool house are straight out of the 1940's and truly enjoyable. The gardens, trails, and tennis courts are really nice as well. It was neat when we were walking around to get to see the horse stables and the caretakers' homes. The Cupola Bar is unique and offers a great view of the water. The orchestra was slightly disappointing but nice nonetheless.

We enjoyed the rest of the island, but the Grand is a wonderful home base. The lobby especially has a wonderful relaxing feel to it, and the staff were wonderful and genteel. You truly get the feeling you are at a special place when here at the Grand Hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RBaumann02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, Michigan USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Recently went to a woman retreat. The staff was the best. From the moment we arrived until we left, everyone was great. They couldn't of done more for over 950 women. Food was nothing I ever have eaten, The bedrooms were so quaint and refreshing, made you feel like were we set in time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. So many shops in town, horse drawn carriage rides, bikes to share. The ride on the boat over was even wonderful. Anyone who wants to have a historical experience please spend time there you won't be disappointed. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

First, if you want to avoid the crowds on Mackinac Island, going in the late fall. We were there the week of October 18, and in the down town area, there were very few people. I can image the summer crowds we avoided.

Next, you will have alot of choices in places to stay. I decided to spend the money to stay in the Grand, getting a corner room. suite. Granted $800+ for one night and three meals for two was a lot, but we will only do it once. You can spend less for the same hotel experience.

The staff was very well trained and nice. Food was good, not great.

If you are not going to stay there, you may find it worth the $10 you pay to visit the property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

In September we stayed at the Grand Hotel for the first time with some friends on one of the Grand's fall specials - a great bargain, to say the least. Our room was huge - very floral - and very comfy, and the food & service was, as expected, excellent. What was most impressive happened on our second day, when I broke my leg while biking (stay away from those horse drawn buggies!). The Grand was terrific : they promptly switched us to a handicapped accessible room, loaned me a wheelchair for the remainder of our stay, facilitated a special pickup of my prescriptions from the mainland, and even sent me a lovely floral arrangement! The resident manager, Heather, couldn't have been more helpful. I'm still hobbling around in a cast, but I have pleasant memories of the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

For years, I had heard about the elegance of the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Having watched the movie, "Somewhere in Time", a stay at this hotel was on my bucket list. I was so disappointed from the minute we checked in until we finally GOT OFF THE ISLAND. The hotel is massive, beautiful view, great service but, the rooms are dated and overpriced, the food is just mediocre at best and ridiculously expensive and we were not told when making our reservation that a convention was being held the same weekend for which these attendees were catered to and other guests seemed to be forgotten. We wrote to the hotel management upon our return home to express our dissatisfaction with the way we were treated at check-in, our room and the exorbitant price charged for their fixed meals ($70 a person for a buffet) and received a disappointing response, timely, but still disappointing. If you want to visit Mackinac Island, stay at another hotel and walk the property. There is a charge for this, however. One more thing, our package included a round of golf which we paid for in advance. The weather wasn't condusive for golf that weekend but, we had to eat that cost because there are NO REFUNDS.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BernadetteCirigliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Level Contributor
311 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed in the Roosevelt themed room and enjoyed the balcony and masculinity of the room. From our 5 course dinner, breakfast, and buffet lunch, all meals were outstanding! The walls are not sound-proof, but guests are respectable. I would suggest staying here at least once, especially if you live in Michigan. I was able to see other rooms and their views and would recommend a Category III room. I read other reviews of special offerings which I will take advantage o in the future. The timing was perfect for the Fall colors, and would love to make this part of my Fall every year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing