We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Mackinac Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,769)
Filter reviews
3,769 results
Traveler rating
2,618
557
270
198
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,618
557
270
198
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cupola bar course dinner jockey club no tipping the main dining room grand experience bucket list longest porch once in a lifetime high tea dress code coat and tie lunch buffet grand porch cruise ship per person front porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3,769 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A place where you don't mind spending your money as it is worth the experience ten times over !!! You memories will linger with you for many years , from the gorgeous surroundings to the friendly staff to the grand dining room . Meal presentation is a sight to be hold !! If your thinking of going , do so before it might not happen for you ! The negative Nellies need not respond !! There is no place like this anywhere !!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nana529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is like every article you have ever read. Walking up to the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island is a spectacular experience. The majestic porch (the longest in the world), the opulence of the hotel, the amazing treatment from the staff, and the joyful feeling entering into our suite overlooking the Straits of Mackinaw, this trip is starting out to be truly remarkable. And to top it all off, to be greeted by Kathy, who helped with our reservation and met us at check-in, who has provided us so much thoughtfulness and care to make sure our stay is memorable, we couldn’t dream of any better experience then we have had so far. Kathy is the epitome of warm, caring service and how to make a guest feel special, like family. We can’t wait for more amazing experiences to unfold.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, we appreciate your review. We are happy that Kathy assisted in making your stay especially enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would much rather stay ANYWHERE on the island than the Grand Hotel. The people that checked us in and out were very rude. There are extra charges for everything. The food in the dining room is average at best. They herd you in like cattle for the dinners and rush you while you are eating to get you out so they can herd more people in. Cafeteria like atmosphere which is no atmosphere at all. The room was not nice, and we had to have someone fix our toilet upon arrival. The Island House and Hotel Iroquois were both much better experiences for a fraction of the cost. The only plus is the porch but even there they bother you constantly to buy alcoholic beverages! The flowers were really the only outstanding thing about this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jillandjeff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is unique and soul refreshing! It's being friends with staff that makes it spectacular. Whether seeing returning managers and waitstaff or meeting new ones, don't change a thing! You've got it right!

Room tip: You can't get an unsatisfactory room anywhere in the hotel! The decor is smashing!
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank channelcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyone should take the opportunity to visit the Grand Hotel at least once - more if possible, in their lifetime! In a most elegant and relaxing atmosphere, you will feel pampered the likes of which you would receive on the most luxury vacation anywhere in the world!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z1632WDsandrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews