We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Grand Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was our second time staying at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. It sure is a "grand" place! We stayed in the Eisenhower Suite which had the most beautiful inlaid wood bed we have ever seen. Our purpose for staying was for a Legacy Five concert which was held in the theater area of the Grand. It was nice to get dressed up for the evening dinner, which was a real treat to eat such delicious food at a leisurely pace. The breakfast buffet had a big variety and was delicious. The items on the breakfast menu also looked very good. We like arriving at the island and not having to worry about our luggage as it is taken care of as soon as you depart the ferry, and it was delivered to our room within minutes of checking in. Again, leaving the luggage outside our room the morning to departure to be taken care of by the hotel to get to our ferry left us free time to browse the shops downtown without worrying about luggage. We are planning on staying at the Grand again next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreasl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have been going to Grand Hotel every summer since our first child was born. This year we had a flawless experience. Upon departing I actually considered stopping to find a manager to let them know how nice our stay had been and how unusual it is in our travels to go a week without a single thing going wrong. Each year we return to find some new improvement to enjoy. One year it was the addition of the huge chess board on the porch for instance. Another year it was the small baby pools by the main pool. Recently we have been enjoying the s'mores party after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

I tagged along on husband's business trip. My first visit and I really loved the island and atmosphere.
The Grand Hotel's grounds/flowers were impeccable and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the herb garden. Everything was clean but very outdated in terms of decorating. Not horrible, but just know what to expect. One slight complaint is that the toiletries were not replenished once used (we were there for 4 days).
For those travelers with childrem, be advised that the TV in the room is very small! Not a big deal for us but something you should know.
Live music every night was great!
Upon checking out we noticed that I was charged for a hefty resort fee for each day, which was a surprise after paying a lot of money for the room itself (room was in husband's name and I was listed as the other occupant).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_ap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. It was our second time staying on the island but the first time at the Grand. Our visit was in the off season (Memorial Day to Labor Day is the busiest time of year and the most expensive. By staying the third week in September we payed significantly less ($800/3nights).

Luggage transfer from ferry (Star Line) to hotel was seamless. We arrived about 5 hours before the 4pm check-in. Our room wasn't available immediately, but was ready around 2pm. We were upgraded to the Eisenhower Suite, which was spacious and had a beautiful four poster bed. Luggage was waiting outside our door when we arrived. The furniture is antique and therefore a bit worn, but clean. The bathrooms are unimpressive (comparable to the average budget hotel - clean, but with basic fixtures). There is a small flat-screen tv in the room; we didn't use it much but did enjoy the history of the Grand Hotel by the hotel historian.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate. There are three dinner menus which alternate, so we did experience all three. The food was good overall; sometimes it was excellent (escargot, lobster bisque, appetizers in general, whitefish) and sometimes it was a disappointment (new york strip, desserts in general). It was very much the quality of a Carnival or Norwegian cruise line menu. Breakfast buffet was nice (crepes, waffles, eggs, cold items) but average. Afternoon tea was delightful: champagne or sherry, english breakfast tea in individual tea pots, a plate of tea sandwiches and a plate of desserts. At ~$25 it was a good value and on par in terms of quality for high teas in most big-city hotels.

Lunch is on your own - we ate at the Jockey Club (which overlooks the first 9 holes of the Jewel - very peaceful), the Gate House, and The Woods. All were good. Excellent soups, large salads, and grill items. Average price was $11-20, which although expensive, was fairly typical for food on the island.

Entertainment in the off season at the Grand was a little lacking, especially for families with children. The pool is NOT heated past Labor Day (too chilly to swim) but there were complimentary snow-cones by the pool in the afternoons and the hot tub was very warm. Croquet and Bocce Ball is set up for anyone to enjoy on the lawn. After dinner there is live chamber/harp music in the parlor with complimentary coffee which was nice. There is live orchestra music and ballroom dancing at 9:30, which we were never able to stay awake for. We had a glass of wine in the Cupola Bar which is an excellent place to watch the sunset. We also watched the movie "Somewhere in Time" which features Jane Seymour and Christopher Reeve, which was an average movie but fun to watch because it was set at the hotel. The movie viewing room was disappointing (just a room with chairs and a projector - hard to see over heads beyond the second row and only accommodating about 30 people). I had one spa service in the hotel's Astor Salon which was a great price and good service. The salon is located directly underneath the main dining hall, so around meal times you can hear LOTS of set-up noise overhead, which isn't as relaxing as I would have liked. The no-tipping policy at the Grand was a refreshing change and definitely kept spa costs down, making it a good value.

Overall we had a great time at the Grand and found it to be a very relaxing and nostalgic place to stay. I would definitely recommend watching for deals online at the hotel's website, because prices can vary drastically.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicureanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

This Grand ripoff is gorgeous. But that ends it. They charge for everything but the air. We bought a deluxe room with a magnificent view and the charm of a second tier Holiday Inn. The dining room, (breakfast and dinner included) was noisy, the service terrible and the food ordinary. The food descriptions were wonderful, the actual look and taste minimal. It was dried out - it must have stayed on a warming rack for an hour. Breakfast was poor - it is better at the average Executive Suites. The so called Afternoon Tea - was mere $26.00 per person - we passed. Give them their $10 fee to just walk on their fantastic veranda - but BEWARE staying there. It cost us $889.02 for ONE night (including a $40 bottle of wine).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Greatbear53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Just returned from our fifth annual visit to Grand Hotel. The Mussers continue to put forward a most wonderful property that keeps us coming back. This year we traveled with my son's family and their two young children. The Jamaican staff in the dinning room special pay attention to the kids, which makes it fun for them. The non-Jamaican staff is non-attentive to smaller kids, almost cold. Because of immigration laws the hotel can not employ as many Jamaicans as they once did. Too bad.
Our room was wonderful, and the food very good, although not quite as good as in years past. The ambience of Grand Hotel is exceptional, as always. The view...ah, the view!. And spending time on the veranda is something not to be missed. The band during dinner makes for a great background, while the afternoon and evening harpist in the Parlor adds charm and distinction.
On our previous four visits we'd never had a problem at check-in, as other reviewers have experienced. This year the attitude of a male supervisor during check-in was very close to being condescending, not the best way to welcome repeat guests to the hotel, especially in a slow economy.
But all is well as soon as you walk up stairs and onto the veranda. Grab a rocking chair, order a drink and listen to the horses come and go. Grand Hotel is still a most magnificent experience everyone should take the opportunity to enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Somewhere in Time (the 1980 movie) gave us the idea to celebrate our 40th anniversary
at the Grand. I read all the reviews for months before our trip.
We decided to go in august before they start to return most of the horses to the mainland.
We stayed at the Best Western St. Ignance for two nights before the Grand visit.
That hotel was clean and comfortable on the lake but we should have stayed in Mackinaw City because
it was much more modern with lots of shops and boutiques where St. Ignance is old in
comparison. We did not know this beforehand. Took the Arnold ferry from Mackinac
City because it seemed like a safer place to leave our car for 5 nights. Ferry ride is
quick and you do see the Grand up on the hill on the left side of ferry. The Grand is
very impressive. We walked thru main st. and to the Grand. It really is a beautiful
hotel. Our room was large enough for two of us. It has a safe in the closet.
The a/c works great and they check your towels 3 times a day. We ate dinner each night
and it is all good especially the fish. Don't stress over the dress code. Most men
wear suits or kakhi pants and suit jacket and tie. I did see more dresses than slacks on
the women but from the reviews I was not sure how dressy the ladies must appear.
I worried too much because it really it did not matter. I wore a slip over black dress
ankle length each night. I had 3 dresses with small sweaters and it worked great.
You do not have to dress up to go eat in town after 6pm just to be in the Grand.
They just do not want you on the floor called the Parlor where the dining room is located.
Come in the lobby and take the elavator up to your room, no problem not be in
formal dress. Very few wore formal dress. The afternoon tea is great food too.
We walked everywhere and took the private carriage ride that came with our room
package. He takes you out for an hour. West bluff homes on the left side of the Grand
were our favorite. The Gate House has great food and the Carriage House and
the outdoor eatery on the green near Mission Point Resort is great for lunch.
Arch Rock is worth seeing. It is hot one day and cool the next. Pack a hoodie.
Bikes and horses rule the island and we did not miss seeing cars at all.
The Grand is Grand even if the rooms seem old our bed was comfortable
and the rooms have a mini bar. The breakfast buffet is great. You wear what you wear in your own town or home during the day. The staff are very nice.
We saw lots of families at this hotel with parents and grandparents.
We had our dinner in our room one night just so that we did not have to go downstairs.
It is the exact same dinner and their is no tipping.
You can hear the people in the room next to you and overhead if kids are running
but most everyone is quiet before 11 pm anyhow. It was not a problem for us.
Would go again and do 3 nights because with 5 nights it is just too much food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachgirl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing