We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but NIce”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Pella, IA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but NIce”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had a great time at the Grand Hotel. I think we may have been very lucky but when we were looking online the cheapest room we could find was over $600 per night. When we called we were able to get a room for $260 but that included only breakfast. When we were checking in we were very surprised when we were looking for room 146 and 150 and found we could not find the rooms…. After continuing to look my mom stuck her key in the door that said the apartment to the president of the United States. It worked, I could not believe it, and we got the presidential suite at discount rate? If you can ask for rooms 146 and 150 if you are traveling with an additional couple. The hotel is really nice, a bit on the fancy side, having to dress up in the evening was not my husband’s favorite part but we enjoyed it. I would not recommend eating supper in the dining room, at $70 per person I would expect food that is better but the sweets were nice, I will include a picture of my crème brule.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbhPella_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    365
    178
    144
    85
See reviews for
669
1,078
52
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel regularly throughout the years and find it to be of singular charm, beauty and historical interest. The hotel offers niceties from bygone eras such as High Tea, after dinner cordial service in the parlor and nightly dancing to the Grand Hotel Orchestra. There are the usual amenities such as golf, tennis and swimming in the pool once featured in a film starring Esther Willliams. Pictures and descriptions of this movie, as well as those regarding "Somewhere in Time" and other interesting historical facts/events line the walls of the Lower Lobby. The gardens and grounds are gorgeous, the food always a treat and service is of level I haven't encountered in many other establishments. But don't let any of this intimidate you. It's a comfortable place to grab a book and relax out on the porch, head up to the cupola for a beverage and take in the view of the straits, wander through the hotel shops, turn your kids loose in the game room, watch a movie at night or just get some R & R. The pace is slower and the absence of cars in favor of the horse and carriage contribute to the uniqueness of Mackinac and enhance the historical ambiance of Grand Hotel and other sites on the island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth50Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband and I delighted in the whole experience, from arriving to the horse-drawn carriages, to the sweeping veranda of the Grand Hotel - to the service, the elegance, the grandure and yet the sense of personal comfort and being part of family vacations going back generations. It felt like being on a gracious cruise ship. We would go back in an instant. It was indeed not just a destination but an entire experience. Very romantic, too!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My daughter and I visited the Grand Hotel for our summer vacation. My "tween" loves history and was charmed by the hotel and Mackinac Island. From the moment the Grand picked us up at the doc in the horse-drawn carriage through our departure from the picturesque island, we had a charming getaway we won't forget. We had a beautiful room, wonderfully decorated with an impressive lake view. The food was delectable, beautifully presented. We enjoyed breakfast and the lunch buffet and dinner in Grand Salon. We also ate in the other restaurants on site, including the tea shop. The service was courteous, accommodating and non-intrusive. My daughter was especially impressed with the storied long porch and the exceptional flowers and gardens. The pool was fun, too. I highly recommend the Grand not only for its history but for as a delightful, memorable experience for the contemporary traveler.

Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadalot_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have visited the Grand Hotel for the past three summers and have found it to be an absolutely magical place. The service is incredible and the setting is divine. Who could ask for more? Oh yeah, the food is great, too. My husband and I loved having so many venues for meals. The dining room was fabulous but we also loved the Woods. I guess the thing that keeps bringing us back above all though is the Grand's porch. It just takes you back in time to a more gracious era. When I'm there I never want to leave. Hence we keep coming back and back and back...

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallySue33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Beautiful all around. A lovely, historic building, wonderful food, very relaxing. The island offers lots to do in the way of hiking, biking, etc. The lake is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wengas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I've stayed at the Grand Hotel on three separate occasions, and I rate them as among the very best hotel stays I've ever experienced. I've never been treated more royally nor with a more comfortable meld of old decorum and new "relaxed." The setting is absolutely grand, the food marvelous, and the staff so very helpful. If the opportunity arises, I'll return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_PaulMinnesotaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing