We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, worth the stay if you don't mind the prices”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are extraordinary...and each room is decorated differently. We did not have a nice view from our room, but we were rarely in our room, so were not too upset about this. The hotel is immaculately clean throughout. The food is very good and two meals (breakfast, dinner) are included in the price of the room. Drinks are not included and are pricey. They give you a $20 food allowance for meals if you eat at any of their other restaurants on the property but not in the hotel itself. Four of us spent almost $100 for lunch at the Jockey Club (two hotdogs, two salads, 2 cups of soup and 4 drinks). Luggage is tagged at the ferry before you get to the island and is taken directly to the hotel ($15 fee by the hotel for baggage handling). There are horse and buggy shuttles to the hotel and/or to town ($4.50 pp each way). Tours of the island are $25 pp or you can arrange a private tour at the hotel for $100 (worth it if you have 4 or more people taking the tour). If one person is booking more than one room, make sure you use separate names/credit cards for each room. They'll put all charges on the acccount of the person booking, which is VERY CONFUSING when you go to check out. They will NOT correct this when you arrive. This was our chief annoyance. The hotel staff seemed unseasoned and disorganized at times...which was very surprising. The hotel is enormous, yet we were not offered a map of the hotel when we arrived. When we asked for one after we realized we had no idea where anything was, it look about 10 minutes of hunting for them to find one to give us. While the food was very good, the restaurant is VERY large and noisy. The orchestra was playing jazz during dinner while we were there, which added to the stress of the noise. We felt as though we were at a wedding reception rather than a classy dining room. You must dress for dinner...dress/nice slacks/blouse outfit for women; jacket and tie for men. Casual wear is acceptable otherwise. TVs in each room are very small. Quiet entertainment, very relaxing. Not too much excitement at this hotel, but worth the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenY_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,499 - 2,505 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2009

My wife, 5 year old son and I made the 8 hour trek up from Columbus, Ohio. Everything was very smooth with the ferry/parking and traveling with our own bikes.
We arrived about 2:00 and was told our room was not available yet, I thought that 100% occupancy rate on a Wednesday night was hard to believe. All we wanted was to change into our biking clothes and start touring the island.
Afternoon tea was beginning and alot of pretentious pretty people were sitting in the front parlor sipping tea and eating very expensive pastries, I'm glad I missed this experience. Biking around the island and exploring was fun and my wife hated the hills up to the old fort and lookout.
We made it back and learned where bikes are not allowed, proof of staying at the hotel is a must to get past security, the $10 spectator fee is for real and the back of the hotel is off limits (viewing).
Overall I kept asking "I don't get it" why was I paying $$$$ for a bed/bath/TV that I could get for $ in Mackinaw City. There was very little to do at the hotel for a typical family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Staying at the Grand Hotel is a unique experience. The property is beautiful, the staff is attentive and professional and the setting is gorgeous. Every bit of the stay was traditionally elegant and it is clear that the owners take great pride in providing their guests with the most comfortable and satisfying stay possible. My room overlooked the famous porch, had a beautiful view of the water and as was extremely comfortable. The setting for the hotel is beautiful. Mackinac Island is unique and virtually everything is within walking distance. I look forward to taking this trip back in time again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed at Grand Hotel in early May 2009. It was still the off season so we got a pretty decent rate. Room wasn't ready upon arrival but we were early. No worries, we just toured the grounds and rode our bikes back down to town for a few hours.

The wait was definately worth it. Our rooms had a wall of curved windows with an amazing view of the Mighty Mac. the room was not large but it fit our needs perfectly. I had a nice big closet for keeping our "dinner" clothes nice. The dressing/vanity area was a nice component.

We had dinner in the Grand Dining room twice. It was fabulous both nights. The staff was great. Food was great. We had the lunch buffet one afternoon, which was also very nice. One morning we went down to the dining room for breakfast. The other morning, we paid only $5 each and ordered whatever we wanted off the menu. This worked very nicely for us to have a quite breakfast enjoying the view for a few minutes before catching the early ferry back to the mainland.

Overall, we had an awesome time and will return!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

A step back in the time where you are treated as important guests. The overnight rooms fit the same historical ambiance throughout the hotel. Rooms were very clean and filled with antiques. You can feel the history. The view from the hotel is breathtaking. The menu, food, waiters and staff were excellent. The cost was very reasonable and I will definitely be visiting again. The hotel is close to many small shops, biking, and other wonderful tourist opportunities.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Grand Hotel is absolutely grand. Charm abounds from the wonderful front porch to the lovely rooms. The atmosphere is like no where else - genteel and serene. The food is excellent. Staying at Grand Hotel is is an enchanting experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghastinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Our tour was by a non-professional operator so I had little recourse when
my luggage was sent to the wrong tour bus upon departure. During the
orientation my companion and I missed the correct time to have bags out
for departure. Apparently the baggage handlers do not read tags as mine
was clearly labeled for my tour. It required much hassle to locate mine
and cost me $33. The hotel declined compensation.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $367 - $910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing