We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,759)
Filter reviews
2,759 results
Traveler rating
1,880
430
200
159
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,880
430
200
159
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupola barcourse dinnerno tippingthe main dining roomjockey clubgrand experiencebucket listlongest porchhigh teaonce in a lifetimedress codecoat and tiecelebrate michiganpecan balllunch buffetcruise shipterrace room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,511 - 1,516 of 2,759 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

After years of listening to iconic stories about this destination we finally got there. By and large it was excellent. The staff is impeccable, the setting is beautiful and the building, itself, is breathtaking. The actual experience is, for better and worse, very much like being on a land-based cruise ship. All your needs are met, but it is all a little "pretend." If I have a caution it is regarding the dining room. Menus were imaginatively conceived. At the eye they were beautiful; at the mouth it was rather hit and miss. Very much cruise ship dining. One meal was wonderful. The next night 2 of my 4 courses I found inedible -- a tepid, gelatinous goo that purported to be lobster bisque, followed by veal dish so salty that it could self-preserve. Breakfasts were, well, plentiful if not flavorful. And then, just as I despaired, the next dinner virtually sang. So, temper your culinary expectations and enjoy the pampering, the elegant nostalgia, and the view.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. Your comments on the dinner service and food will be passed along to our Management Team. We are sorry that your evening meals were not up to your expectations, and will use your words to help prevent this in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Everything expected and more. You sure get what you pay for. Very friendly staff. Great menu followed by great food. The amenities are wonderful. The grounds beautiful. Pictures of the grounds are for framing. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto8151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do hope you have the opportunity to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went there for Mothers Day with our family. It was incredible. The service and food was awesome. The hotel is an experience. Each room is decorated differently and they are all just beautiful. Felt like we were stepping back in time. We are going back again in September.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaLil120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Grand Hotel. I loved the over-the-top decor and service, and it really made an impression on my children. I will say that in the dining room, the server made a sort of obnoxious comment about the fact that my husband and I don't drink alcohol in front of our three kids. It left us all a little puzzled -- who cares if we drink or not? The food is heavy and rich, but everything we had was very good. Mackinac is not really a haven for "foodies" in general, but it was a nice experience. Our room was clean and a mistake on our bill was promptly corrected. Kids enjoyed the pool -- in my opinion it needs some work/resurfacing and was also not as clean as I would have liked, but they didn't complain. We didn't really understand that there were so many activities available for children -- I advise checking that out in advance so you will be prepared. This is a great family experience that you won't soon forget! We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the least expensive room and the hotel provided a rolling extra bed. They were very accomodating.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank muckabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do apologize if you were made to feel uncomfortable in the Main Dining Room regarding your beverage choices. We do hope that you visit again, and be sure to check out all the children's activities that can be found on our website under activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Ahhh... Sitting on the veranda with a cocktail, overlooking the water with the flags flying, in a lovely rocking chair... Worth every penny. We had 2 adjoining rooms with patios overlooking the water and they were very nicely appointed.
The staff was accommodating and friendly. A highlight for my grandchildren was high tea. Quite an experience.
The golf is good, the pool delightful. For a family of several generations looking for the best vacation, albeit expensive, this is the place! I plan to return again however I will never eat at the buffet again. One last comment; the food is ok but not great

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jacob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews