We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fanciful Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fanciful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

After years of listening to iconic stories about this destination we finally got there. By and large it was excellent. The staff is impeccable, the setting is beautiful and the building, itself, is breathtaking. The actual experience is, for better and worse, very much like being on a land-based cruise ship. All your needs are met, but it is all a little "pretend." If I have a caution it is regarding the dining room. Menus were imaginatively conceived. At the eye they were beautiful; at the mouth it was rather hit and miss. Very much cruise ship dining. One meal was wonderful. The next night 2 of my 4 courses I found inedible -- a tepid, gelatinous goo that purported to be lobster bisque, followed by veal dish so salty that it could self-preserve. Breakfasts were, well, plentiful if not flavorful. And then, just as I despaired, the next dinner virtually sang. So, temper your culinary expectations and enjoy the pampering, the elegant nostalgia, and the view.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. Your comments on the dinner service and food will be passed along to our Management Team. We are sorry that your evening meals were not up to your expectations, and will use your words to help prevent this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Everything expected and more. You sure get what you pay for. Very friendly staff. Great menu followed by great food. The amenities are wonderful. The grounds beautiful. Pictures of the grounds are for framing. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto8151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do hope you have the opportunity to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went there for Mothers Day with our family. It was incredible. The service and food was awesome. The hotel is an experience. Each room is decorated differently and they are all just beautiful. Felt like we were stepping back in time. We are going back again in September.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLil120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Grand Hotel. I loved the over-the-top decor and service, and it really made an impression on my children. I will say that in the dining room, the server made a sort of obnoxious comment about the fact that my husband and I don't drink alcohol in front of our three kids. It left us all a little puzzled -- who cares if we drink or not? The food is heavy and rich, but everything we had was very good. Mackinac is not really a haven for "foodies" in general, but it was a nice experience. Our room was clean and a mistake on our bill was promptly corrected. Kids enjoyed the pool -- in my opinion it needs some work/resurfacing and was also not as clean as I would have liked, but they didn't complain. We didn't really understand that there were so many activities available for children -- I advise checking that out in advance so you will be prepared. This is a great family experience that you won't soon forget! We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the least expensive room and the hotel provided a rolling extra bed. They we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muckabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize if you were made to feel uncomfortable in the Main Dining Room regarding your beverage choices. We do hope that you visit again, and be sure to check out all the children's activities that can be found on our website under activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Ahhh... Sitting on the veranda with a cocktail, overlooking the water with the flags flying, in a lovely rocking chair... Worth every penny. We had 2 adjoining rooms with patios overlooking the water and they were very nicely appointed.
The staff was accommodating and friendly. A highlight for my grandchildren was high tea. Quite an experience.
The golf is good, the pool delightful. For a family of several generations looking for the best vacation, albeit expensive, this is the place! I plan to return again however I will never eat at the buffet again. One last comment; the food is ok but not great

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have gone to the Grand Hotel two times in a row and plan on returning next year with friends. The moment you arrive you feel like you are returning home. The staff is excellent and really stop to talk to you and listen to what you have to say. The resident manager Peter Badour is the most gracious and relaxed person. We have had many a pleasant conversations on the porch with him and he really makes your stay special. He is one of the reasons we will be returning. Brian Dombrowski, the front desk manager is just as gracious. He was very helpful this summer is obtaining the perfect room for us. The same one we stayed in last year.
We stayed 4 nights the first time and 5 nights this summer. You certainly get value for the money you spend. I love the fact that you have to be dressed up after 6:00 pm. There should be more of that kind of attitude in restaurants and resorts. The Grand Hotel does not just offer you a relaxing and fun vacation, it makes memories for you. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Category III rooms offer great views. We find it is worth the extra money. My husband loves to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your words are very kind and express exactly how we wish every guest to feel when they stay with us. We hope you continue making memories with us for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Hard to believe the hotel was built in the late 1800's. It's sheer size overwhelms you as you approach it.

The service is 5 star and extremely well maintained. Everyone was extremely helpful and professional at all times.

My one criticism would be the quality of the food. Often times sauces and seasonings were a bit overdone and quality a bit lacking. This was not a major issue.

If you are looking for place to escape to and relax in, this is the place.

Room Tip: Inside view rooms are a little larger for the same price than rooms with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing