We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but used to be better... 3.5 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful but used to be better... 3.5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is still Grand because of it's history but has seen some better times. This past weekend was not my first stay but may be my last for some time. The quality and service as dropped a bit in the past decade and it is missing the same class and style it once had. The sofa's in the hallways were worn and the back of our bathroom door was badly chipped and missing paint. The room had cobwebs and our ice scoop was dirty. The dress code is not being enforced and the standards of the hotel have seemed to have drifted with it's laxed enforcement. I no longer feel this is worth the price tag associated with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is reviews like yours that help us to look at areas that may need a little work. We do hope that you return in the future, and that we continue live up to the expectations that you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

It was all I hoped for, and more. From the moment we got to the Island, until the day we left, it was an experience of a lifetime. The ambience was as if I had gone back "Somewhere in Time". It was amazing. A trip to treasure.

Room Tip: I believe there is no bad room. We had the Jane Seymour Suite. Gorgeous. Fantastic view of the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you don't wait 33 years to visit again. :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a special place! From being picked up at the pier in the special horse and carriage, to an amazingly quick check in, to colorful, classic rooms, to dressing up for dinner and being treated to five star service and five star cuisine. This is just an experience for at least once in a lifetime, but once you experience the Grand, you want to come back. This was our second visit for just this reason. A couple of suggestions. Take the carriage to the Woods, a restaurant owned by the Grand a charming 20 minute ride through the woods for a drink and a round of duck pin bowling. What? Take the kids, trust me. Then the orchestra starts about 9:00 and it feels like the Dirty Dancing scene from the movie with all generations dancing together to classic big band era songs and top 20 hits. The kids will love it. The pool is huge with 2 hot tubs and free snow cones. There are so many other small details, from giant chess and lawn games to high tea and harp concerts. What? Plan on 2-3 hours for dinner and 1 for breakfast, and always order off the menu, you can always make a trip to the buffet for free on top of your entree. Make sure to order a side of bacon, yummy. Dinner is amazing, soups and appetizers will fill you up but oh goodness, you will love the entree. Breakfast and dinner are part of your stay, so enjoy. Then enjoy a drink in the Cupola bar with a Michigan sunset, just perfect. The Grand is just unique, and everyone should go, at least once, and you'll be back.

Room Tip: The named rooms are special, ask for a room with a balcony for a view you wont forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

And it is an experience. The place is beautiful! You are catered to and treated like you were special. It must be something to experience this day in and day out like the rich. Being middle class we were blown away. The employees just waited to take care of you. All you have to do is look like you needed something and they would appear to see what you needed.

Cheap? No! Did we care? No. I loved our visit from the minute we stepped into this little world.

The meals are something! First time in my life I had chilled soup, delish, I even had escargot. The evening meals were 5 course and so pretty to look at and most of the time is was very good. The breakfast buffet was large and very tasty. The employees were friendly and we had good service overall. There was a dress codes for evening. Some dressed up and a few were poorly dressed, mostly you dress like going to church and you were fine.

I sat on the porch several times. My favorite was the warmest day of our stay. The idea in my head before coming matched the experience I had. Glass of wine and sitting on the porch looking at the water, unbelievable!

They play music off and on during the day. The harp was beautiful, filling the air with magic. She played Danny Boy and it made me tear up. I can't explain what this experience met to me. My husband enjoyed it to but he did this for me. We celebrated our 34 anniversary while there, it was special.

We walked down to the pool area, the pool was not open, it was still pretty cold while we were there. They had the hot tub going but we did not try it. I do not see how handicapped people can make it down all those stairs. Maybe there is a way around it.

The employees come from all over the world. My understanding is they fly themselves there from where they live and enjoy working during the summer. They are under contract and have to work the season. They work hard and seem to enjoy it.

We stayed 3 nights. Our room was so pretty and no wallpaper. We had a window with the view over looking the pool and bay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had everything you needed. I will say that if you had someone next door you could hear them pretty well. That was the one downside to our room.

Overall we enjoyed our visit. We came at the start of the season so there were not a lot of people and the weather was chilly. If I ever get the chance to come again I would put it's over 1000 miles from home and the world is a big place to see.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea at the Grand Hotel isn't worth the $30 per person PLUS $10 fee to even walk on the property if you're not staying there. That's $80 for two people to attend a less than average afternoon tea. Had their afternoon tea been as magnificent as the Fairmont Empress Hotel on Vancouver Island, I would have considered $80 a bargain. The sandwiches were not very good and their pastries were left, half eaten, on our plates. The presentation is lame, also.
Now, the Grand Hotel should NOT be missed. It is the most amazing hotel and the porch....heavenly. The history is so interesting and the views and gardens should be on your "must see" list. Just skip afternoon tea.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriedahoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our third stay at the Grand Hotel. We have yet to encounter a hotel staff member with a frown on his face. Where the workers are happy, the guests are happy. Everybody seems to really enjoy their job and are dedicated to seeing that all guests enjoy themselves to the max.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We recently had our summer area meeting at the Grand and it was fun. Everything was comfortable, the food was fantastic and everyone treats you like a VIP! Great views abound with quaint shops to stroll through and an amazing sized swimming pool!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing