We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I love historic hotels and spent a week here in May 2014 for a week of "Vintage Dance". I was fortunate to share a spacious lake view room with 2 friends. The grand scope and setting of the aptly named place is magical. And the dining experience spectacular in food, ambiance, and service. Some of the best "bang for buck" vacation dollars I've ever spent. If your idea of a resort is lounging around shorts and flip flops, watching TV, or having soft rock seeping from every corner, this isn't a good fit. For those who like a change from that aesthetic, this is heavenly. Live music to dance and dine, harp in the lobby, people dressed for dinner was what this unique space provides.

Room Tip: I loved the lake view. But if it's warm enough to be on the porch, it doesn't matter what vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    394
    188
    150
    86
See reviews for
703
1,142
55
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My family travelled to Mackinac Island for the 4th of July week last year and were so happy that we did. It was a perfect family vacation with activities to keep every member of our family entertained.
The hotel itself is stunning and designer Carleton Varney has succeeded is preserving the historical appeal of the hotel while at the same time adding whimsey. Each guest room is different and my daughters and I enjoyed trying to peak around the housekeepers as they cleaned the rooms so that we might see what the interiors looked like.
The 4th of July celebrations were exactly as they might have been 70 years ago and it was a delight to see my children enjoying themselves so much. They had every carnival game imaginable and my daughter was most pleased to come away with an award for "minute to win it". There is so much technology these days that it was a relief to know good old fashioned fun still exists.
The restaurants were great. We enjoyed lunch at the golf course and Village restaurants, and also enjoyed the carriage ride to dine at the Woods. The 4th of July cookout at the Fort was a treat, and my husband and I were glad to watch the fireworks from the Cupola Bar.
The resident historian was very knowledgeable and full of great information not only on the Grand Hotel, but many other hotels we have stayed at.
Overall it was a perfect family vacation and one I would highly recommend for anyone looking to experience life at a slower, more leisurely pace.

Room Tip: It is an older hotel, so rooms are smaller. If you want big city hotel rooms, stick to the big city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwiththegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear how different generations come together to enjoy Grand Hotel events. We hope to see you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband & I have visited the Grand a couple times now. Every experience has been one of pure luxury & perfection! Staff was so friendly & accommodating, and the grounds are beautiful. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for "lake view" rooms…the views of the non-lake view are not so pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saralangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a magical place! From the grand entrance steps, to the fabulous artwork in common areas, to each uniquely and opulently decorated room, our stay here was wonderful and definitely worth the cost. Don't miss the happy hour music, with drinks and snacks--a treat! We ate breakfasts and dinners at the hotel,and all were expertly prepared and served. Although the huge communal dining hall rather lacks intimacy for dinner, we were seated at the very back in a smaller alcove with lovely window views--much cozier. The breakfast buffet appeared abundant and fresh, but we ordered from the menu, partly to relish the expert white-gloved service once more. From start to finish, the Grand Hotel takes excellent care of its guests!

Read everything you can about the Grand Hotel and Mackinac Island before going--it's like a trip to another time. If you don't stay there, go for lunch and take in the grounds, art exhibits, and performances--they're wonderful and free.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your words and advice describe the Grand Hotel experience perfectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A few years ago, while on Mackinaw Island (but in a different hotel) we met friends who told us that was their 13th summer vacation at the Grand Hotel, starting when their kids were toddlers. Intrigued, we decided to try it for a long summer weekend (including 4th of July) two years ago; we returned last year and plan to go again this year. We likely will also go there every summer for many years to come. It is a place where you really feel safe for the kids and away from much of the normal world (cars not allowed on Mackinaw Island). Although the Island is gorgeous, we rarely feel the need to leave the hotel grounds. There is something happening every few hours and festivals for the kids and adults. I liked the evening formal dining; it felt as if in a cruise. I do think a single person not in a business trip might not enjoy the hotel as much. But, I do recommend the hotel as great summer unique get away for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like a family tradition has begun, and we hope to see you and the entire family for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We go to the Grand every fourth of July weekend as a family with the grandparents. It's always an enchanted experience that includes elegant rooms, daily family dinners in the enormous banquet hall with tremendous staff, activities for everyone including the tandem bikes and horses, and the overall feeling that you've left the hustle and bustle and jumped back in time for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_S_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our first trip here was the Somewhere In Time weekend. We didn't know what to expect. We loved every minute of it! The hotel is stunning, the food delicious, and the staff is warm and welcoming. We met so many people from around the country, and the world. From the nightly turn-down service, to the daily activity sheet, you feel as if transported to a different time. In fact, we are planning a return trip this year, and hope to return in the years to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing