We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience! Check one off our bucket list!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Grand Hotel has always been on our bucket list. When we heard about the "Celebrate Michigan" package on select nights in September and October we had to give it a try. The package included one night's lodging, a five course dinner, breakfast, a wine and hors d'oeuvres reception on the huge front porch before dinner, and use of all the facilities of the hotel (too bad we don't golf!). The cost after taxes and fees for the two of us came to about $325 per night which we thought was a great price. We were not disappointed.

Grand Hotel is an awesome, historic facility that is one-of-a-kind. Its location overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and the Mackinac Bridge is spectacular. The grounds and facility are gorgeously decorated and maintained. Even though the building is over 125 years old, the accommodations are up-to-date to what you would expect in a modern hotel. Our room and bathroom were immaculate and very comfortable. The flat screen HD TV and wi-fi worked perfectly.

Eating at Grand Hotel was an experience. The dining room is huge and wonderfully decorated. It was definitely not an intimate experience, though. We were told it can hold over eight hundred people. The noise level did get rather high, but not to the point of not being able to carry on a conversation.

The five course dinner was good, but it reminded us of a cruise ship experience. There were three or four appetizer choices, two or three soups, one salad, five or six entrees, and about a dozen desserts or ice creams to choose from. We were a bit disappointed with the entrees and had the impression of mass-produced rather than individually prepared food.

Breakfast was excellent, with the ability to either eat from an extensive menu or from a huge buffet table that had to be at least thirty or forty feet long. We tried both as we stayed two nights. Both were great. At lunch, there was another huge buffet table with an extensive selection of salads, fruits, hot foods, etc. The selection and quality was excellent.

All in all, we had a great time and were not disappointed with our experience. We probably would never pay the full summer rate price to experience Grand Hotel, but if we get the opportunity to return at one of their special package rates we will seriously consider coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442GaryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,671)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,699 - 1,705 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

When staying at the Grand Hotel one is made to feel special, that they really care - the help everywhere we went was pleasant, made eye-contact, seemed to be enjoying their jobs and helped to make every experience quality. We asked for and received the type of rooms we wanted.

The decor is Victorian, not modern, so if you want a "modern" experience, stay on the main land. This is a truly historic place - the entire Island is. We felt honored to be able to stay one night. That's all we could afford but we made the best use of our time.

Room Tip: There is no room without a good view, but the Lake View rooms are the best. There is noise and ligh...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first experience staying at The Grand Hotel! It was awesome :). Our expectations were fulfilled in every way. We recommend The Grand to anyone celebrating!!!
Loved the porch, the room, the service, the food. It has to be experienced.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annwalshquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had always wanted to stay at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac so finally booked one night at a Bed and Breakfast rate of $300 per night. Room was ok but bathroom toilet hadn't been cleaned. Hotel is decorated like a circus---lots of stripes and colors; maybe the furniture is considered Victorian. Not what we expected at all. We ate dinner at the Gate House; expensive and awful food quality. Breakfast in the main dining room not much better. Almost all the staff is either Jamaican or Asian. Again, not what we expected though they were helpful and polite. Don't think we'll go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy721_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Did not stay here, only ate dinner in the Main Dining Room. At $79.00 per person, it's an all inclusive price (taxes and gratuity). One menu with limited choices in all courses. It was basically (as has been noted in previous reviews, not necessarily trip advisor) like a cattle call-herd em in, herd em out. The place was very busy with a small wait of about 10 minutes to get seated.Our waiter was probably the worst waiter we have ever experienced in any restaurant in our life. No talking, no smiling, just bring in one dish, come get it, bring in another all throughout the meal. I got a cup of coffee at the end of the meal, poured the creamer in and it curdled up. Tried to ask for another cup of coffee, and you would have thought I asked for the world. The waiter appeared miffed but reluctantly brought another cup. I guess when the gratuity is included in the price of the meal there is no need to be but so friendly to the patron.
Food was average, nothing to write home about. Soup was cold and the bread pudding was very dry. The rest of the hotel experience (once we got out of the dining room) was very pleasant. We walked around the lobby areas and out on to the front porch where we made it a point to "sit" in a rocker. After all, if you don't stay or dine there it costs you $10.00 to do that. It is very elegant in the lobby and sitting areas and we enjoyed going around looking at the photos on the walls and reading the stories and history of the hotel. When we were getting ready to leave, the concierge was very accommodating in calling us a horse drawn taxi to go back to our Inn. If ever back on Mackinac Island we would probably go walk around just to see the property but never to eat or stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Edward0236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our 2nd stay and it was very nice. We liked having everything close during a rainy weekend in early June. Venturing out and about on the Island was also nice when the weather cleared, but I enjoyed the large, noisy dining room at night with all the bustling activity. Service was good, food was good, cocktails on the porch, and in the top lounge afterward were nice too. We took a carriage ride out to the Woods for dinner one night and had a lovely evening. This is an all inclusive hotel so breakfast and a formal dinner are included in your room costs. We felt very relaxed and had a wonderful stay. On the other hand be prepared for a very old creaky room with ancient furniture, where the floors are slanted, nothing is square, and it feels like you are a bit tipsy just looking at all the crazy old fashioned patterns in the wall papers, carpeting, and window treatments. It was fascinating to us that the hallways are not straight, not even close to flat, and periodically go up or down by a few inches at random intervals. Going up or down the large lobby main staircase in heels is an adventure in itself since the stairs first tip in one direction, then in the other. Very Different! This hotel was built quickly, all in wood, and has settled over the years in some crazy ways. My only other comment is that I really wish they would use local, or at least American employees and let them earn tips. Gratuities are included in the reservation price so the service staff probably earns only a basic wage. I do not like this aspect of old fashioned, almost indentured, style of service.The front desk staff is all from India, the wait staff is from the Caribbean, the cleaning crew is from Latin America, etc. etc. They are all very nice and do their respective jobs well, but I don't like that this hotel has almost entirely imported help when there are many from the USA who would love to have those seasonal jobs in this very historic all inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2UfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Celebrate Your Marriage. The food was amazing as was the service. This is our 6th stay and it is always a new experience. I want to give a thumbs up to one particular waiter, Donovan he was friendly and right on for all servings.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $366 - $909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing