We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bucket List”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The Bucket List”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Grand Hotel was one of my bucket list items. I would definitely do it again. The hotel is historically charming and the staff is very professional. We golfed the Jewel, which is very tight on the front nine but has some spectacular views! There is a half hour carriage to the back nine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Somewhere In Time Suite. Great view with a vintage interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    406
    193
    153
    87
See reviews for
728
1,167
55
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The jewel in our trip to the Great Lakes was definitely the Grand Hotel. From the first glimpse of the majestic cupola and grand porch to the gorgeous green sofa across from our room, the Grand Hotel delivers. We had a magnificent view of Lake Huron and the lovely grounds (but no one on the waterfront can see the Grand), from our posh room with its geranium carpets, plush canopy beds and colorful striped walls. Lilacs and geraniums were in full bloom all over Mackinac Island and the sounds of the horse-drawn carriages woke us to a last-century morning.
The staff, particularly the concierge were all delightfully friendly and we enjoyed drinks under the "stars" in the Cupola bar and a nice breakfast in the spectacular dining room.
The Grand Hotel is just that...Grand. The décor is amazing, the ambience unequaled, and the entire experience made us feel like vacationers in a century where the pace was slower, people kinder and the world grander.

Room Tip: Water view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We staid in Grand Hotel for two nights. Everything from pick up off your luggage at the ferry to the heck out and transfer of your luggage back to the ferry is very organized And stress free. The buffet lunch was wonderful and the service impeccable. The dinner at the Woods has retained old world charm. You have to take a horse driven Taxi to get there. That is enough to awaken your senses as you pass along the bluffs overlooking the Mackinaw bridge. the spa services were mediocre. The gym was not upto the resort standards. definitely do the "tea". It is an experience you will not forget. The entire resort feel you in a timeless world.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ram k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

While I'm on Trip advisor writing a review of our most recent trip I thought I'd write a review of our trip to Mackinac Island in August of 2012. It's probably taken this long for me to be able write a decent review. :) My husband and I were staying one night at Grand Hotel Mackinac Island to celebrate our anniversary. It is a lovely and historic hotel and I'm glad we stayed for the one night just for the experience. However, we booked a king room and when we opened the door to our room (which by the way was clean and beautifully decorated in the Grand style) it had two double beds (double beds), we called the front desk to let them know and also to request a move to a king room and were told (and not in the most friendly of manners) that the double room was all that was available. The room overlooked an interior courtyard that was home to all the electrical units - not the most pleasant of views. Deciding to make the very best of it, we wanted to shower before dinner. My husband turns on the water and guess what... No hot water...not just warming up... it never did and at 4pm in the afternoon. Haha! Oh my goodness it is funny thinking back but I'm glad I didn't write this review immediately after our stay and glad I can laugh about it now. Also, as we strolled through the main hallways trying to enjoy as much of the Grand history possible we encountered many cobwebs and dust - in corners, on furniture - gave it an almost haunted affect. We absolutely love northwest Michigan and Mackinac Island but would choose to stay at one of the many other lovely inns on the island next time. We both are outgoing people and like to engage in conversation with almost everyone we meet. The friendliest person we encountered was our waiter, James, the next morning at breakfast - and it was a delicious breakfast. He was the most friendly and engaging person during our stay at the Grand. Be ready for an adventure and go with the flow! BTW, the double bed situation ended up not being such a bad problem after all! ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WOXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Few destinations can compare to the Grand Hotel. We took our grandaughters who love horses and wanted them to have a memorable experience so we asked for a specific room we had stayed in years ago and loved even though there was no lake view because you could hear the horses traveling by so well. That room was unavailable, but the hotel upgraded us to a room in the Presidential Suite right above the front porch! Wow! it was like a dream that we all enjoyed together.

Room Tip: Historical Hotel, enjoy the trip back in time. Rooms off the parlor level don't need to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our first stay, and with teenagers. We left jsut before the big July 4th celebration, but wished we had booked to stay through. There were many activities planned, besides the regularly scheduled fabulous activities. Kids LOVED it and so did we! How great, too, for kids to experience a place with no cars! We'll be back year after year...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Grand Hotel is beautiful. It's well worth seeing, if you travel to Mackinac Island. There's a real sense of history there, and if you close your eyes part way, you can see the way it used to be. But, if you go to the Island, and do not stay at the Grand Hotel, buy the ticket that allows you to walk through the hotel. Don't waste your time or money on the Buffet Lunch that the hotel offers for the hoi polloi. They herd you into the dining room like cattle, force you to sit where they tell you (and, heaven help if you get separated from your group, because you will have to eat with whatever strangers they put you with.) The serving staff is, on whole, abrupt and unpleasant. And to top it all off, the food is only average. It's eminently edible, but not special at all. Eh, the desserts are good. So much of Mackinac Island is pleasurable and loads of fun. Don't waste your time or money on this experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiverL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing