We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solving Murders at the Grand”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has been on my husband's Bucket List since he saw the movie "Somewhere in Time". Since our schedule would not allow us to travel there for that weekend, we chose to book for their "Murder Mystery" weekend. We had a great time, enjoyed working in teams with the other people we met there, and found the hospitality to be great. The weekend did find us a bit more 'scheduled' than we are used to on vacation, with not as much free time as we would have liked. We had a room with a great view and enjoyed the history and amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjpalmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,045 - 2,051 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Grand Hotel is a wonderful piece of history and has been updated nicely to accomodate what we expect in a luxury resort. Let me get the couple negatives out of the wa first. Our first impression at the front desk was a little dissapointing, there was not much in guest accomodation and not many smiles either. This is a destination point and not a real easy trip. The ferry runs very often and that does help out. The hotel is definately "Grand" as you pull up in your horse drawn carriage it is amazing. Our kids loved the pool, particularly the large inflatable snake that then climbed up on hundreds of times. The workout facility was small but adequate. The food was amazing! Breakfast buffet just went on and on and on! It was very hot when we were there and the air conditioning kept up just fine. We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColdFrontChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was excellent have been here for different ocassions and the "somewhere in time" weekend was the best. Jennifer the general manager goes out of her way to make you comfortable we want to thank her so much for a great weekend.The weekend was so special with most people dressing up for the old victorian time we our definitely going to come back for this weekend again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is an excellent place to tour in October. We stayed with a package for two nights and five meals. The island itself is a great place to bike and tour, so we biked around and on the inner sides of the island as well. But the hotel itself is steeped in history and tradition. As with many of the hotels on the island, if you are looking for modern sleekness and state of the art, this is not for you. This has the feel of when it was built in the 1800s. Everything is a step back in time, in accordance with the island itself.

Mackinac Island is the only State Park with no entry fee, but I guess you could call the ferry costs the entry fee.

The Grand Hotel is a one time experience for us, as the costs are quite high for our taste. But they have enormous amount of staff and dining there was full of terrific wait staff. The food was excellent, although it is tough not to excessively eat. Plenty of courses and plenty of selections. Well presented, and the staff is right there for your every need. The patrons in our party all felt like we were on a huge cruise ship.
We decided try everything, gain a few pounds, and lose the pounds after our stay. We can all say we gained weight, even with the biking.

The outdoor whirlpool near the outdoor pool was terrific. The pool itself was closed for the season. We enjoyed the ballroom dancing in the evening as well. The rooms are fine, although if you plan on staying in your room all the time, you are missing out. The traditional rooms have thin walls, and sounds from other rooms do intrude, but we only used the rooms to read and sleep, so it didn't bother us. The island is the place to tour! We have been on the island before, so the carriage rides are fine, but we prefer biking around now, or walking.

Touring the hotel itself was fun, but the view from the porch is the best. Looking down on the Straits, with the Mackinaw Bridge to the right and the harbor to the left, was something. You could watch freighters glide by. You can't see main street, as the tree canopy allows your eye a natural view to the water over the streets of Mackinaw Island's downtown.

The rocking chairs are fun to sit in no matter what the weather. The sprawling porch and lounges always has the view. It is pretty amazing to see the island from this perspective. However, would we return? Not to stay, because the price is just not in our range. We prefer staying on Main Street is a smaller hotel or day tripping here, and staying off the island. It is too bad, as more people should be able to stay here just once for the experience, just to feel pampered once in your life.

Again, the service is top notch, the food is top notch, the view is tremendous, and the facility matches the decor of the island itself. But the price far exceeds the American dream. There should be some value weekends, maybe for middle class travelers with less staff on call, maybe? Just a thought.

Room Tip: Just be prepared to pay for your experience. If money is no object, and traditional decor is fine wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soub7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was on my bucket list and we went last Wed and Thursday nights the 25 and 26 th of October, we were not disappointed . The hotel is beautiful, elegant , clean, interesting, all good things and everyone should go at least once. The rooms were great and are all different, we saw several, they now have TV's.
The food was delicious, breakfast, lunch and a five course dinner were included, kind of like on a ship., You ordered off the menu and it was very good.
The best thing however is the service, it is excellent . We were treated very well, everyone was so nice and went out of their way to make us feel special. Sure hope I get to return someday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNDAE01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful and elegant places I have ever stayed. It's as though you've turned back the clock. All of the staff are excellent and make you feel like royalty. This hotel is the epitome of class. It's hard to find a hotel to compare this one to. They don't exist anymore. The gardens are amazing and well manicured. The front porch is relaxing and afternoon tea with harp playing made my stay the most memorable experience. Can't wait to return to The Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was as Grand as the name! The staff was so Nice and helpful because the hotel is so large. The front porch rockers was the place to sit and relax with a wonderful view of Lake
Michigan. There was so much to do with hiking trails, lawn games, spas, movie theater and so much more. The rooms were all so beautifully decorated andeach one was different, You just wanted to sneak a peak at each room. It is certainly on my list of places to go back to!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the higher floors versus first floor. Not as much people with so much being loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21Kathy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $375 - $910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing