We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Condominiums
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although these condos are a bit outdated in their decor..we were allowed to bring our puppies and the staff is very nice and helpful. Their relationship with the neighboring Stonecliffe was great because they are so friendly over there..you can rent bikes there and they have great restaurant. I would stay again for sure. They are about two miles from downtown which was a little far for convenience but our stay was good..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

A nice little condo tucked back into the woods, was a very nice place to stay. Although it was a bit over a two mile hike back into the center of town as our taxi driver said, it wasn't a terribly hard walk. Be advised though that a three year old and two one and a half year olds absolutely refused to walk. The bright side kids four and under have a free taxi ride, while kids twelve and under are half the price of a $6.75 adult trip. Most of the taxi and shuttle drivers were very helpful, while others weren't ones for conversation, but that was alright. We even rented bikes for six hours and got in two trips around the whole island and back, concluding in a 20 mile workout. Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want a rustic experience, this is the place. Bring your gym shoes, jacket, back pack, and bike. If you have younger children (5 and under), be prepared to pay for a taxi (6.75/person, no charge for little children) each way. The staff is great. The rooms are outdated (carpet, appliances, couches, etc). I would stay again but without young children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as Sunset Condos are reasonably priced and allowed us a new, enjoyable perpective of Mackinac Island. We walked and rode our bikes everywhere and just relaxed. Back in our room, I couldn't stop taking photos of our view! We plan to return again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room in the Applewood building for the best view! Also, we were advised by staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

There was a pretty good deal going on when I booked (book one night get the second half-off) so the price was much more reasonable than other places on the island.

It is a two-mile walk up-hill from downtown, but I didn't mind. I only took their shuttle service once--when I was checking out. It took about as long as the walk did.

I had a patio room since I was by myself. Although there is a pull-out sofa, it would have been pretty tight to use it or have more than two people in the room.

The view was great and it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of downtown. There was a very nice breeze from the patio and a box fan was provided.

Although many of the comments here discussed hearing neighbors tvs or smelling their food I didn't have any issues with that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvanleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I loved this property & would say here again for sure. I have been to the island once before and stayed at a B&B and found this place cheaper, without much compromise. Even if my next time on the island wasn’t with a large group, I would stay here again!

The place was very affordable for what we had. We had 6 girls staying in the 1 bedroom loft layout. That gave us a total of 4 beds (2 actual beds & 2 pull outs) but most importantly 3 FULL bathrooms. Yes, the room was a little dated but that didn’t bother us. The sheets and rooms were clean & the room wasn’t falling apart so being outdated we could handle. Two of the bathrooms were very sizable, fitting 2 girls at a time to get ready. The upstairs bathroom in the loft, not so much. At best, it could fit one person. The kitchen is a good size & had everything we needed. The pots & pans available are minimal (2 frying pans & 2 sauce pans) but everything else (bowls, cups, silverware, utensils) was fully stocked. The room also had a dining room table and barstools for the kitchen counter. Plenty of room for people to sit and eat. We stayed at the Cedarwood building, 2nd floor and the view was spectacular. We were able to see the bridge and crystal blue waters stretching for miles. The balcony had a small table and chairs so you could enjoy the view. The walls are thin and due to lack of A/C, had did have all of the windows open. Lucky for us we didn’t have anyone below or next to us but apparently sounds travels very well in this area because we supposedly had a complaint from the building next to us. Oooops! Just as long as you keep things to a mild roar after midnight you should be ok.

The staff was wonderful. Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance people to luggage handlers, everyone was very nice and pleasant. The staff even sent a search & rescue for us when we couldn’t find the place. Tim is the best 

A few side notes: the office & condos are about a 2 mile walk from where the ferries land. Please follow their directions on how to get to the office. We left ours at home and ended up walking Lake Shore. After about 3 miles we realized we were not finding the place and had to call. Hence, our search and rescue. The directions they give you are much faster and very direct. They will shuttle your luggage/coolers only (there & back). Walking from the condos to town is not bad. As mentioned in other reviews it’s mostly downhill but coming back after a long day of biking, shopping, drinking…it can be exhausting. Catch a taxi downtown for your ride home. You don’t need to preorder one. They have a taxi stand or if you see one on standby, they can radio one for you. From what we could tell, no one delivers pizza. Just as a FYI. We ate at Goodfellas - nice place w/outdoor seating. Pink Pony – had GREAT outdoor seating but pricey drinks ($12 for the lilac something…). Went to the Mustang Lounge for drinks & dancing at night. Reasonably prices drinks & it seems to be the place that all of those who work and live on the island go to have fun after work.

The only reason I wouldnt give this place an excellent is because of outdated room & the distance from the downtown area. If you dont mind these two minor flaws, have fun staying here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sasravenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

These accomodations are almost 2 miles from the waterfront but, its all downhill so you can walk and take a horse drawn taxi back for $6.75/person. Our unit was clean but very dated;small TV,old bathroom and kitchen.The Woods restaurant is an easy walk and very worthwhile.The Stonecliff Inn is adjacent as well and the food is also excellent. We cooked in one night and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was cool on Mackinac (Sept.14-17,2011) so air conditioning as not an issue. The view of the straights is awesome as is that of the bridge(we had to walk75 yards to see this view). You can walk the 9 hole golf course right near the property. Downtown is busy and once you have toured the island and the Fort, the western Stonecliff area is a wecome respite from the activity.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2d floor room in a comple othe than Appleton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mission Point
Mission Point
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Condominiums

Address: 8704 Eckel Dr, Mackinac Island, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Condominiums sit secluded on the west end of the Island at Stonecliffe, in a beautiful wooded area with some views of Lake Huron. Enjoy the outdoor grills & picnic areas, full kitchens, fireplaces, balconies, shuttle to and from the downtown area, free WIFI, nearby golf courses and restaurants and more! Sunset Condos are perfect for any size group - whether it's family, friends, wedding groups, or reunions. Each condo is individually owned and decorated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing