We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet place to stay”
Review of Hart's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hart's
Ranked #11 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were in Room #8 which was great. Nice decor and had a good feeling to it. TV was good, everything was clean and neat. The only thing was there were no cups in the bathroom for me take my pills with, other than that we enjoyed ourselves. It is one block up from main street so if you take the Star ferry you just walk right up from there. We took our own bags it was so close. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #8 is an end room and very quiet. A friend told us about this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Room #8 was clean & spacious. Hart's is located off the main road but is close to the shops & restaurants. It is a great value & I would stay here again. The staff & owner are very friendly & helpful. The breakfast is basic with juice, pastries & cereal. I loved the quiet country setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buickmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at Hart's 1 night in May. We have two rooms, 3 and 6. Porter brought our bags up from the dock but it was only a few blocks. The walls are a little thin but maybe our neighbors are just louder than we are used to. Rooms are big, very clean. TV reception poor but that may be the rainy, foggy weather. Overall, great value and we would stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kheltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk. Scotland.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we tried to book a hotel for our trip in August 2012, We tried many hotels before Hart's but struggled to get accomodation for 3 nights. When we booked Hart's we knew it was more of an economy Hotel, When we arrived the hotel was as we expected pretty basic, but very clean and tidy, The location like most hotels here was a 5 mimute walk from the ferry.

If you want a basic hotel for a few nights it will Harts will fit the bill.

Room Tip: Their is only around 6 rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capri086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed the first week of Oct in #6 Queen Deluxe room. Very spacious, very clean. This place is called Hart's with lodging underneath, not to be confused with a B&B that serves gourmet breakfast. Breakfast is continental: cereal, juice, pastries, mini-muffins, coffee, tea.

Owner was a doll. This is a great, reasonably priced hotel and we will stay again.

Room Tip: #6 & 7 had a lovely view of a grassy hill with corral like fencing at the top. Very rustic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaWestminster_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hart's was one of the most reasonable places we found on the island and we were surprised how close it was to everything! The breakfast was meager but we found a local bakery that we loved (Marc's Double Oven) and had breakfast there each morning. The best thing is really the location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forevermandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for one night in early August. Our friendly hostess told us that this hotel was originally built as a house around the 1850's and was the home of the Island lady schoolteacher, whose last name was Hart. The front two rooms are part of the original home, the rooms in back around the little courtyard were added on later. This little hotel was booked solid, we were lucky to get one room here for one night. We had one of the front two rooms, and we could hear the horses clip-clopping in the day (enchanting!) and the drunks yelling at night (not so enchanting). Our room was clean, small, and cozy. I told my husband that it felt as if I was visiting my grandmother, the place has personality and felt so homelike, it did not really feel like a regular hotel. The Grand definitely has its place, we have toured the Grand before, but this felt like home and was more our style. Our bathroom only had a shower not a tub, which was fine. The delightful little soap bars smelled of lavendar. There was a portable AC unit in the room, and our room was cool and comfortable when we came in from the hot summer day. The room had charmingly framed pictures of the Mackinac Island Lilac Festival in years past. The number one draw of this charming little hotel is the location, however. We had cereal and OJ from the little breakfast, and ate it in the sunny courtyard, enjoying the Island sights and smells. If you want a bigger breakfast, there are several places to eat just a block or two away on the main drag.

I would recommend that anyone who loves Mackinac should try staying overnight on the Island at least once. My husband and I walked a couple of blocks down from Hart's to watch and photograph the sunset over St. Ignace, and enjoyed walking around the streets at dusk. The Island has different feel after the last ferry boat leaves at 9pm, I am glad we could experience this. And it was lovely to wake up on the Island in the morning, with sun coming in our window and the gentle sounds of horses nickering and their hooves on the streets. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atravellermidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's

Property: Hart's
Address: P.O. Box 266, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0266
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing