We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Trip Advisor!”

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thank you, Trip Advisor!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tried this tiny restaurant based on the reviews on TA, and would have to say their hamburgers/cheeseburgers are among the best I've tasted (and I thought mine were the best!). I had the regular cheeseburger, which was excellent. It is served on a pretzel dough bun with lettuce, tomato, mayonnaise and onion (omitted in my case on request) with pickle slices and chips on the side.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seadrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    159
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Eggscelent breakfast sandwich”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very popular, only open for breakfast and lunch, but definitely worth the wait- and there usually is one!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BayCitySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've visited the Chuck Wagon several times over the years, usually for breakfast. Yesterday we had lunch and I'll have to agree with the statement 'best burger on the island.' We sat at the counter and watched the chef prepare the burgers and sandwiches for the lunch crowd. That in itself was impressive - he never stopped moving!!

But the treat was the burger. It was so hot off the grill, I actually had to let it sit for a minute before I could eat it! My wife's sandwich was equally good.

The Chuck Wagon is a long, narrow restaurant and has a diner feel. The locals tend to eat there, so that's always a good sign that the food is good. There is sometimes a wait since it is not a large place.

If you're in the mood for a hearty breakfast or tasty burger, I recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cute place for breakfast”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Chuck Wagon is very charming. It reminded me of an old fashioned dinner. There are a few 2 person tables, counter seating, and a larger table in the back. Our family of 4 had breakfast and ate at the couter. We thought the prices were very budget friendly, the food was good, and the service was good as well. Would definately eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeinmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The BIG yummy burger!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Heard rumors about this place, so stopped in for lunch to see what it was all about. I like that it was small with only a few tables and a counter, so felt very diner-esk. Ordered the "Rattlesnake" burger based on the server's recommendation for a first timer. It was on a pretzel bun...yum...and was piled high of meat and cheese. Great flavor and couldn't put it down. I think I surprised her when she came back to check if I was doing ok, because she chuckled when she saw that I was pretty much done. Laid back atmosphere and perfect for an easy in and out lunch. Very friendly staff, and possibly the best burger on the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing