We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast!!”

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
889 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

As has been well doucmented, the Chuck Wagon is tiny...but, if you manage to get a seat, what a wonderful breakfast!!!

This was a convenient place for us to go for a breakfast during a weekend stay on the island...especially since it was next door to our hotel! We were forutnate in being able to get a two-top right away. We both ordered a "standard" breakfast of eggs, potatoes, bacon, toast and coffee. The service was excllent and friendly, and the food made FAST...this, despite the morning crowd, and only the one gentleman working the grill (the owner?). Everything was done to our liking perfectly, and was an excellent meal.

Being able to watch the grill, we were very impressed with how all of the orders were addressed and made. It was a very efficient operation, and no one seemed to wait that long for their food. I would imagine this is made possible with the relatively small number of menu choices, but these choices are perfect, and there's something for everyone.

Deifnitely return potential here!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    153
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a little place but great food.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A hole in the wall but the service is fast and friendly and the food and prices are great. Breakfast until 11 and lunch after that. The grill is too small to cook both at once.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Holy smokes they are kidding about having the best burger in town !”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Ok so I highly recommend ordering the food "to go" or be prepared to get the shock of your life when you open the door to this restaurant to find it packed and smaller than the size of your average hotel room ! But let me tell you once you sink your teeth into one of these burgers you will flip, They are are so amazingly succulent and flavorful you will think "what is in these things?!" Do NOT come here and order anything other than one of their amazing burgers on your first try. (You will be missing out) I recommend the Patty melt and the Rodeo burger !!! Aaaaah I will be dreaming of these burgers months after I return home from my visit. Enjoy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AABTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very quick and friendly service. The eggs were done perfectly and the portions were of a good size. Quite a small space but comfortable seating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conkeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy diner style food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good biscuits and sausage gravy, good pancakes. Good iced tea. Right next to our hotel. Waitress was very personable. The place was clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaj5622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing