We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hamburgers - come hungry”

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hamburgers - come hungry”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After bicycling the hilly interior trails of the Island we were ready for a good meal. Based on the reviews here I headed to the Chuck Wagon and it lives up to all the great reviews. We upgraded our burgers to the fries and cold slaw. Hamburgers are huge, hot and juicy. The pretzel buns are substantial and hold everything together nicely without being overly "doughy". Service was fast and friendly. The only down side would be the cramped quarters. With no place to put our helmets and other bicycle gear, the tiny two-seat high top table got pretty crowded. The food made up for it tho! We'll be back next time we get to the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv To Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    153
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

A tiny, old-fashioned place with only a few 2-person high tables and a long counter. The delicious burgers are made as you watch. The staff is helpful and pleasant and the prices are very good for a high-season resort area. We'd love to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank kathysommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast !!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped here for breakfast after viewing the menu on the front window. It met all of our expectations and more. What a geat spot!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great burgers and breakfast sandwiches. On an island geared to tourists, this is a place for a good greasy cheap burger.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyG2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Make a point of stopping at this little diner and sitting at the counter for a burger as they are WONDERFUL!! We also had breakfast the two mornings we were there and were very happy with these as well. Just watching Donnie at the grill is worth the stop alone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing