We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, quick, and tasty”

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap, quick, and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped in for breakfast during an overnight stay on the Island. We sat at the bar, were promptly given menus, served our drinks, and our food came soon after. I ordered the breakfast sandwich with ham (yum) and my boyfriend ordered pancakes (hard to find good restaurant pancakes, but these were quite good.) We were in and out in about 30 minutes. I would definitely go back. The only slight issue I could see with this place is that it's a VERY small diner atmosphere, where in the summer months could get very crowded and irritating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    152
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
253 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food - friendly staff - perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Amazing food served in unique combinations (like grilled cheddar cheese sandwich with crisp smoky bacon, chipotle aioli and Granny Smith apple slices - outstanding!). Wish I lived closer so I could go back soon! And located right in the heart of Main St, close to the ferry docks. Definitely a great choice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had the rattlesnake burgers and they were great. Friendly staff and good food for a good price. They closed mid to late afternoon, so get there for lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Averageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Drove Six Hours for another Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just returned home from another wonderful time on Mackinac Island. Went for 3 days over the holiday weekend and went to Chuck Wagon 3 times! Twice for burgers and once for breakfast before return trip home. We crave these burgers and are already looking for a return trip! Don, Sharon, Chantel and Patty are friendly, fast and AWESOME when it comes to food and service! They do not disappoint! Cannot wait till we visit again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was my first time coming to the island and the only reason I came to eat here was from the good reviews from trip advisor and yes its exactly how they describe it! I personally love portillos burgers and haven't found anyone that beats them until now!!! Yes!! I tried I believe the rattlesnake burger , it has chipotle sauce and jalapeño peppers OMG its awesome awesome !!!! It tastes so fresh like at home burgers. It tastes like no other !! You have to go eat here you won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing