We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Place for Breakfast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck Wagon of Mackinac

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“THE Place for Breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Really good place for breakfast. Everything was well done and tasty.
Tried the burgers for a lunch. The burger was excellent but my wife and I had different thoughts on the bun. She loved it while I felt it was too chewy.

Only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VicF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    152
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Burgers were the best ever, (and we have eaten alot in our lives!. Ate lunch here two days in a row and breakfast last morning before heading out on ferry. The food, the entertainment watching the great food being cooked from your seat at the counter to the wonderful owners and family cannot be beaten for great memories of "dining" on the island! We became HUGE fans in just a few days! We will return on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The burgers are delightfully yummy. Dont pass this restaurant without stopping. Must try!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaceyAmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you like a good hole in the wall, then this is the place for you. They have great breakfast! It was THE place to start our day. The place is really small inside, so big groups and families might have a hard time squeezing in. If there is a line...wait...it is so worth it. Good prices, fast service and good food.

The make a mean BELT and the hashbrowns are nice and crispy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelSpotSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The place is small but cook does a great job of getting orders out quickly and 2 servers that were working on day we went were busting their tails. Price was very respectful for Island food, but when you add in the generous portion and how well the food tasted it is a bargain to say the least. Would rate it in top 5 burgers I have had! I travel for work so to say the least that is alot of burgers to compare and this one is right up there. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RicknDeb_46383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing