We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "must do" Island experience”

The Haunted Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a very fun Haunted House. It's all about laughing and screaming. If you don't know how to laugh and scream and have fun, you will not like this attraction...... Don't waste your time or money. It is definitely very "old school". The idea for the Haunted House was based on Indian Legends from the past. Artist friend Dale Kuipers hand crafted and artistically created the finer displays. Everything was made from scratch........all the art work.....all the mechanics.....everything.. I realize that there are several displays that should be totally pitched, but I have a hard time convincing the owner to do that. He is very very "old school" I know it needs to be updated. Back in the 1890's this location housed a Rollar Rink, which is hard to imagine. Then it was a family theatre........then a movie theatre.........then in the early 1970's Frank Nephew and Robert Benser purchased the building. In 1974 they leased the building to Welden Blum and Joe Feuquay. Welden Blum is still today the owner of The Haunted Theatre. Dale Kuipers was the artistic talent........Welden was the Engineer..........Joe was the Businessman. Others involved with their creative talents were Rick Beeman and Sheldon Bennet. This location, many many moons ago must have been part of Indian History, perhaps even a burial ground.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A "must do" Island experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place has been an Island institution since I was a kid decades ago. Places which last that long have proven their worth!

This is not for little kids (it is actually scary), but older kids (even adult "older kids") will love it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    29
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haunts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great for kids - but too hokey for the old and cynical.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpringmanKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

It was very dark, and the special effects were pretty cool, but I was afraid I would trip - it was SO dark! I know that adds to the mystery of it, but it wasn't for me.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

What is wrong with the people here complaining about the "no refund" policy enforced by the Haunted Theatre? I am assuming you go to a HAUNTED THEATRE to be frightened, do you not? If your children were so scared that they "couldn't get past the first exhibit" or exited anytime before completing the maze then the HAUNTED THEATRE accomplished their goal of frightening you (and/or your children) and you (and/or your children) accomplished their objective of BEING frightened, did they not? Why would you expect a business to give you your money back for them following through with a service they offered and you sought out? (being frightened) By your logic, the only people who should pay are those who complete the maze and who were also frightened. If someone goes through the entire maze and isn't frightened, does that mean they then have the right to ask for a refund because it didn't frighten them? Of course not! The Haunted Theatre wouldn't be in business for long if they gave everyone their money back! Stop complaining and consider the money you spent a good investment for a business who delivered on their promise and fulfilled your expectations of being frightened! If you don't want to be frightened--or don't want your kids to be frightened--THEN DON'T GO TO A HAUNTED HOUSE!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I don't know..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I don't know if this was a good haunted house or not cause my eyes were closed the entire time. I basically just shut my eyes, took the back of my husband's shirt in both hands and shoved him all the way through. It might have been nice but I am to big of a scaredy-pants to really know. Luckily we had a coupon so I didn't totally waste the addmission fee. Probably wouldn't go back even if I had a sudden attack of bravery.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTJK3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Haunted Theatre also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Haunted Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing