We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fudge and taffy on the island”
Review of JoAnn's Fudge

JoAnn's Fudge
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We are a traditional, family run fudge shop with locations on Mackinac Island and Mackinaw City. We make our fudge in store everyday, so please feel free to stop by for a sample!
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best fudge and taffy on the island”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Go here if you want great fudge, they also give samples of taffy and fudge. Always buy my fudge and taffy here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    128
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The Smell tells it all !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Just walk in this candy shop & the smell of freshly made candies makes your mouth water !
This quaint little shop on Main Street is delightful & brings a smile to your face. Candy Makers are usually in the process of creating a new batch of candy as you observe them. Fudge seems to be the most popular type coming in a variety of flavors.
This is a must stop on Mackinac Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Found a hair, lost my appetite”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went in to buy some fudge after dinner. Service was poor. The girl behind the counter did not greet us or ask if she could help. I tried to ask her some questions (best selling fudge flavor, etc.), and all of her responses were very short - like I was bothering her. In any case, my son ordered a slice of vanilla fudge. We sat down at a bench nearby to eat it, and when I broke it apart, we encounted a large, embedded hair. Completely lost my appetite. Took the piece back to the shop, where they replaced the purchase. Aside from the hair, I only found this fudge to be average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannsFudge, Public Relations Manager at JoAnn's Fudge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi there,

First of all, let me apologize for the insufficient level of service you received whilst you were in our store. We pride ourselves on our friendly and thorough customer service, and we are distressed to learn that your experience of Joann's failed to meet the high standards we set for ourselves.

Having spoken to the employee in question, we understand that the hair in your fudge was in fact a thin piece of plastic, a tail from one of the knives we place in the box. We work very hard to ensure that our working environment is clean and our employees well groomed and fit for service, but occasionally things can be overlooked and, in this case, mistakes can occur.

Our employee informs us that as well as replacing your fudge you received an extra slice free of charge. We hope that that gesture acts as a measure of our sincere apologies. Please feel free to get in contact with us on (906) 847-6357 if you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you,

- Joann's Fudge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“For All Things Fudge”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We read where JoAnn's received the Washington Post award for best fudge on Mackinaw Island. I have to say we did not try each of the shops up and down the main street of the village......but JoAnn's was excellent. I am not a chocolate lover but I had a small piece of raspberry mouuse and it a bite of Heaven. Be sure to get in line for JoAnn's...have a samples, they are generous....and take lots of this sweet confection selection home to your friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fudge and ice cream on the Island, hands down!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We love the smooth creamy peanut butter fudge! And the butter pecan ice cream is just the right mix of sweet and salt. Chocolate mint has deep dark chocolate flavor in the heady mint. Two waffle cones for 8$. Sold!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michigamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoAnn's Fudge also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to JoAnn's Fudge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing